Search Unity

Question how do you change a script in a unity package?

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by laurentlavigne, Jan 5, 2021.

  1. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,362
    I'm trying to fix vfxgraph not working with input system
    and each time I modify the c# it gets returned to original state.
    upload_2021-1-4_20-0-18.png
    all i want is to nuke this #if
    upload_2021-1-4_20-0-37.png
     
  2. Favo-Yang

    Favo-Yang

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    464
    sandolkakos and laurentlavigne like this.
  3. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,362
    thanks Favo,

    How do you do #1?

    I did #2 and it crashed the editor a few times, I think there are some deep dependencies in some of the packages, QA is aware, fixes coming in URP 8.32
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2021
  4. Favo-Yang

    Favo-Yang

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    464
    1) Use API UnityEditor.PackageManager.Client.Embed(packageName);

    2) Or use this helper package, notice that the package will be renamed recently. It adds a menu item "Assets/Embed Package" against your current package selection.

    3) Or DIY. remove the direct dependency from your manifest.json (if have), move the package folder from Library/PackageCache/PKG_NAME to Packages/PKG_NAME