Search Unity

how do you "actually" learn Unity?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by transporter_gate_studios, May 31, 2021.

1. transporter_gate_studios

transporter_gate_studios

I've been using Unity for many years now and i have some decent knowledge. Enough to get some things done without any help. I have to say, as much as I like Unity and the power it brings, it was a very painful experience. I started by reading much of the general documentation and going to the API side when it was necessary. Honestly, I was lost and just stumbling around not even know what I was looking for. I posted questions in the forums only to get no answers. Most of what I learned was by accident and I find that to be such a waste of time for something that is literally known already by some individuals. Imagine not knowing how to drive a car and going to the library to find a book on it and the only book on it had a single page that read: first, get in the car, then put it gear, then drive it by pushing the pedal. What pedal? what's a gear? how do i get in the car? how hard do i push the pedal? I guess what I'm wondering is... I see people on these forums that seem to understand the very elemental lines of code that operate the engine and understand it very well. They mention things that are not in the documentation or in videos or even in forums, and these are not Unity employees. I'm just like, how? how and where did these people start and how did they ever get to this point of understanding it this well. I have many issues with my games and I'd much rather learn the how everything works rather than post on a forum begging someone who knows for help. its just seems like this is not how game development is supposed to go. It has to more organized than this? is it really this chaotic for everyone? if it is, then I need to learn to pace myself and expect long periods of inability to move forward where I can go back to painting or making music for a while. to be honest it is s