Search Unity

Question How do other games do it? Hitting the maxQueueSize in my dynamic world full of network objects.

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Gazzzah, Jan 10, 2023.

1. Gazzzah

Gazzzah

So before my question, some context. And I am still a noob at game dev and this is my first project at multiplayer stuff.

I've build a world generation algorithm, it's full of trees, rocks, shrubs and fruit bushes.
    They get scattered across an island and partially re-spawn at the end of the day (but in different places)
    If the player destroys them then little resources pop out (also networkObjects).
    Fruit bushes can be picked, they have another networkVariable (dueDate) for when they will regrow their fruit.

As soon as a client tries to join, it hits the max queue size.
    The error says: Couldn't add payload of size 270079 to reliable send queue. Closing connection 1 as reliability guarantees can't be maintained. Perhaps 'Max Send Queue Size' (98304) is too small for workload.

I induced this error with 2000 items but the payload size varies based on however many there are.

If I was using unity transport then I can just increase the max queue size (which feels like I'm setting myself up for future problems) but I've switched to facepunch steamworks, since having steam's "invite to lobby" is much more suitable for my games style and I cannot adjust the queue size in that (at least I don't think).

Ok so I write a new Scatter object script and try to make it optimized AF.