Search Unity

How do I refer to a specific space in a spatial mapped room?

Discussion in 'VR' started by Stryk3r, Aug 12, 2016.

1. Stryk3r

Stryk3r

Hi I am a HoloLens newbie and went through the HoloLens tutorials. I would like to fire some UI elements when the user is gazing over a certain section of a spatially mapped room.

So for example n the default room of the HoloLens emulator, when the user gazes at the sofa, I would like to fire an event and have some holograms appear at the sofa but only at the sofa.

So my question is how do I access the data that stores that sofa's transform.position vector?

2. Unity_Wesley

Unity_Wesley

Unity Technologies

Hello,

It sounds like you need to find a specific location and then store that location for later use. This might work for what you want

The best way I think to do this is send a ray cast from the camera or the hand, then collect the hit information. You would want the Vector3 position of the hit, from there you could create a game object on that position. It would be a good idea to world lock the object too. Then you could store that game object in the world anchor store for later use or to use it as a anchor for that session. All this information can be found in the documentation that installs with the HTP build.

Code Snippet for Ray Cast:

Code (CSharp):
    1. RaycastHit hit;
    3. // Creates a Surface Marker is it hits something, used to test physics on Surface Obersver
    4. if (Physics.Raycast(ray, out hit, 10f))
    5. {
    6.   Debug.Log("Hit Something: " + hit.collider);
    7.   SurfaceColliderVisual = GameObject.CreatePrimitive(PrimitiveType.Sphere);
    8.   SurfaceColliderVisual.name = "SurfaceSLAM";
    9.   SurfaceColliderVisual.transform.localPosition = hit.point;
    10.   SurfaceColliderVisual.transform.localScale = new Vector3(.1f, .1f, .1f);
    11.   SurfaceColliderVisual.GetComponent<Renderer>().material.color = Color.cyan;