Search Unity

Question How do I read the rotation in degrees of a VR Camera?

Discussion in 'VR' started by apaul, Nov 16, 2022.

1. apaul

apaul

I am trying to record the angular rotation in degrees (x,y,z) from the OVRPlayerController Centre Camera to read the head rotation of the player.

I am using Camera.main.transform.eulerAngles.x (y and z) to record it. Is this the right approach?

Or should I read the rotation of the OVRCameraRig?

2. DevDunk

DevDunk

Camera.main should be your VR camera, but I suggest to make a Camera (or Transform) variable where you put the camera in. Then it should just read that transform.
    OVRCameraRig is the whole player I think, don't think thats what you want

3. apaul

apaul

Thank you for the reply.

The issue I am having is that the data I get in eulerAngles/ degrees has a lot of outliers or gimbal lock issues. I am not an advanced programmer, so I don't know the straightforward way of converting Quaternions to Degrees. I can't seem to get my way into figuring this problem out.

Is there a simple way to get that done in Unity? Below is how I am recording the data from the camera.

Code (CSharp):
    2.         Quaternion camData = Camera.main.transform.rotation;
    3.         Vector3 eRotation = Camera.main.transform.eulerAngles;
    5.         x = camData.x;
    6.         y = camData.y;
    7.         z = camData.z;
    8.         w = camData.w;
    10.         x1 = eRotation.x;
    11.         y1 = eRotation.y;
    12.         z1 = eRotation.z;

4. DevDunk

DevDunk

That's what eulerangles does. What do you want to do?

5. apaul

apaul

I want the accurate camera rotation values in angular degrees or radians for the x, y and z axis. I am unable to do that and don't know how to do that mathematically through programming.

I haven't found any working excel macros/ formulas that I can use on the values that I am recording either. I am lost about how to deal with this even after reading through countless posts online.