Search Unity

Discussion How do I make Player Prefs for saving Toggle and between scenes so it saves too?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Flaczki901, Jan 22, 2023.

  1. Flaczki901

    Flaczki901

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    Hello, would someone please write me a script with saving Toggle with the bird checked and unchecked and so that between scenes it can save?, because I don't understand how to write it too much so I would like help.

    Unity Version: 2022.2.0f1
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,752
    The purpose of this forum is to assist people who are ready to learn by doing, and who are unafraid to get their hands dirty learning how to code, particularly in the context of Unity3D.

    This assumes you have at least written and studied some code and have run into some kind of issue.

    If you haven't even started yet, go check out some Youtube videos for whatever game design you have in mind. There are already many examples of the individual parts and concepts involved, as there is nothing truly new under the sun.

    If you just want someone to do it for you, you need go to one of these places:

    https://forum.unity.com/forums/commercial-job-offering.49/

    https://forum.unity.com/forums/non-commercial-collaboration.17/

    https://livehelp.unity.com/?keywords=&page=1&searchTypes=lessons

    The script is a tiny part. Integrating it into your game / scenes / prefabs is the hard part and only YOU can do that.

    Here's an example of simple persistent loading/saving values using PlayerPrefs:

    https://gist.github.com/kurtdekker/01da815d2dfd336a925ae38019c3a163

    Useful for a relatively small number of simple values.

    Otherwise use a GameManager if the lifetime of the data is only for the game.

    If none of this makes sense, go start with tutorials... LOTS of tutorials. It sounds like you have a lot of catching up to do.

    Tutorials and example code are great, but keep this in mind to maximize your success and minimize your frustration:

    How to do tutorials properly, two (2) simple steps to success:

    Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every step must be taken, every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly, literally NOTHING can be omitted or skipped.

    Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right: Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes.
    BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE!!


    If you get any errors, learn how to read the error code and fix your error. Google is your friend here. Do NOT continue until you fix your error. Your error will probably be somewhere near the parenthesis numbers (line and character position) in the file. It is almost CERTAINLY your typo causing the error, so look again and fix it.

    Step 2. Go back and work through every part of the tutorial again, and this time explain it to your doggie. See how I am doing that in my avatar picture? If you have no dog, explain it to your house plant. If you are unable to explain any part of it, STOP. DO NOT PROCEED. Now go learn how that part works. Read the documentation on the functions involved. Go back to the tutorial and try to figure out WHY they did that. This is the part that takes a LOT of time when you are new. It might take days or weeks to work through a single 5-minute tutorial. Stick with it. You will learn.

    Step 2 is the part everybody seems to miss. Without Step 2 you are simply a code-typing monkey and outside of the specific tutorial you did, you will be completely lost. If you want to learn, you MUST do Step 2.

    Of course, all this presupposes no errors in the tutorial. For certain tutorial makers (like Unity, Brackeys, Imphenzia, Sebastian Lague) this is usually the case. For some other less-well-known content creators, this is less true. Read the comments on the video: did anyone have issues like you did? If there's an error, you will NEVER be the first guy to find it.

    Beyond that, Step 3, 4, 5 and 6 become easy because you already understand!

    Finally, when you have errors, don't post here... just go fix your errors! Here's how:

    Remember: NOBODY here memorizes error codes. That's not a thing. The error code is absolutely the least useful part of the error. It serves no purpose at all. Forget the error code. Put it out of your mind.

    The complete error message contains everything you need to know to fix the error yourself.

    The important parts of the error message are:

    - the description of the error itself (google this; you are NEVER the first one!)
    - the file it occurred in (critical!)
    - the line number and character position (the two numbers in parentheses)
    - also possibly useful is the stack trace (all the lines of text in the lower console window)

    Always start with the FIRST error in the console window, as sometimes that error causes or compounds some or all of the subsequent errors. Often the error will be immediately prior to the indicated line, so make sure to check there as well.

    Look in the documentation. Every API you attempt to use is probably documented somewhere. Are you using it correctly? Are you spelling it correctly?

    All of that information is in the actual error message and you must pay attention to it. Learn how to identify it instantly so you don't have to stop your progress and fiddle around with the forum.
     
  3. Flaczki901

    Flaczki901

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    I know, I know the csharp code, but I just don't understand player prefs much.
     
  4. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,752
    That's why the above link just wraps it up so you don't need to understand it.

    Look for the link with the gist.github.com address, then you just treat it as variables that don't reset to zero.
     
  5. Flaczki901

    Flaczki901

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    if I would have taken something from this would have credited a little, but as I see it is on the sound of the most
     
  6. Flaczki901

    Flaczki901

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    I made such a script and there are no problems but something wrong because with "void Awake" if, because it works normally but no longer uses "else if" and "else", as if it bypasses and I tried everything I know but still does not work so I do not know.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. jeffdlmco

    jeffdlmco

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2022
    Posts:
    12
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public void Change()
    2.     {
    3.         PlayerPrefs.GetInt("ToggleSelected", 0);
    4.         Screen.fullScreen = !Screen.fullScreen;
    5.     }
    You are not saving (putting) your GetInt into a variable.

    Should be something like

    int myToggle = PlayerPrefs.GetInt("ToggleSelected", 0);

    And this code makes no sense. You are saying "if this thing is an apple then do this, else if this thing is an apple do the same thing."

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  if (PlayerPrefs.GetInt("ToggleSelected") == 0)
    2.         {
    3.             toggle1.isOn = true;
    4.         }else if (PlayerPrefs.GetInt("ToggleSelected") == 0)
    5.         {
    6.             toggle1.isOn = true;
    7.         }
    Same thing here. Why are you calling GetInt twice? And you don't need the { and } brackets since it's not in an if statement.

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  public void Toggle1Selected(){
    2.         PlayerPrefs.GetInt("ToggleSelected", 0);
    3.         {
    4.             if (PlayerPrefs.GetInt("ToggleSelected") == 1)
    5.             toggle1.isOn = false;
    6.         }
     
  8. Flaczki901

    Flaczki901

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    because I tried to use several factors to circle and if it wasn't saving then I don't know what I was aiming for because I don't know about playerprefs