Search Unity

How do I make an object go to a certain position in Unity 2D?

Discussion in 'Navigation' started by ArvidPiSa05, Oct 14, 2019.

1. ArvidPiSa05

ArvidPiSa05

So here is a simple question, not sure if this is the right place for this but I'm pretty new to Unity and i wonder how i can make an object go to a certain position.

I have a button, and in its script i have an empty OnMouseDown thing (not sure what it is called). So i want to make the OnMouseDown to move another game object to another position. How do i do this?
    This is in Unity 2D.

Edit: I would like the game object to glide to the new position.

2. Yandalf

Yandalf

Not really related to this forum since this is meant for AI navigation and pathfinding, but I'll help you out.

UI Buttons can actually do this for you without too much code necessary. If you select your Button and look at the Button component in the Inspector you'll see it has a section called On Click () with an empty list under it.
    If you click the + button beneath it, you add a new element in the list.
    This is a Listener, Listeners "listen" for the button to be clicked and then execute whatever you specify, each time you click the button.

First, you need to specify which object you want to listen to the button. This will be your moving object.
    Simply drag it into the empty slot.
    Next, you need to write the actual code to move your object.
    To make this as simple as possible, make a new C# script called Moverwith this code:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class Mover : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    3. public float speed = 1f;
    4. private Vector3 _targetPosition;
    6. private void Start()
    7. {
    8. _targetPosition = transform.position;
    9. }
    11. public void MoveTo(Vector3 position)
    12. {
    13. _targetPosition = position;
    14. }
    16. private void Update()
    17. {
    18. transform.position = Vector3.MoveTowards(transform.position, _targetPosition, speed * Time.deltaTime);