Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question How do I make a harvesting system for a survival game?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Wavvyy, Dec 5, 2022.

1. Wavvyy

Wavvyy

I'm currently experimenting and learning in unity and I decided to make a survival game prototype for fun. I'm new to scripting in general and I wondered how I could make a proper harvesting system. This is what I have done so far.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using UnityEngine.InputSystem.HID;
    6. public class PlayerHarvest : MonoBehaviour
    7. {
    8.     public int Gold = 0;
    9.     public int Iron = 0;
    10.     public int Bronze = 0;
    12.     public float cooldown = 1f;
    13.     private bool cool = true;
    15.     public Resources Resources;
    17.     public LayerMask groundMask;
    18.     public Camera playerCamera;
    20.     private float distance = 2f;
    21.     private bool harvestKeyPressed;
    23.     public void coolDownStart()
    24.     {
    25.         StartCoroutine(CoolDownCoroutine());
    26.     }
    27.     IEnumerator CoolDownCoroutine()
    28.     {
    29.         cool = false;
    30.         yield return new WaitForSecondsRealtime(cooldown);
    31.         cool = true;
    32.     }
    35.     private void Update()
    36.     {
    38.         harvestKeyPressed = Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Mouse0);
    40.         Ray ray = playerCamera.ScreenPointToRay(Input.mousePosition);
    42.         if (harvestKeyPressed)
    43.         {
    44.             if (Physics.Raycast(ray, out RaycastHit hitinfo, distance, groundMask) && cool == true)
    45.             {
    46.                 coolDownStart();
    47.                 Resources.ResourceHarvested();
    48.             }
    50.         }