Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How do I detect if an object is currently in collision with another object multiple times per frame?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by TotallyRealHuman, Oct 22, 2020.

1. TotallyRealHuman

TotallyRealHuman

Hey, I'm pretty new to unity and I want to write a certain line of code which detects whether a certain object is colliding and if it is, move it to a different position. I want that line to run multiple times per frame, so I don't think OnCollisionEnter() would work. Finally, if this is possible at all, I want to detect said collision from a script attached to a separate gameObject. Is this possible? If so, then how?

2. orionsyndrome

orionsyndrome

OnCollisionEnter() frequency is dictated by the physics fixed time interval, so it's bound to get triggered regardless of your framerate or Update method. By default, the fixed rate is 50 UPS (updates per second; 0.02 seconds interval). And unlike your regular display framerate, which can stretch dynamically, this fixed update is fixed.

While you can make your own collision detection, there is no easier or more convenient way for a beginner, or even advanced programmer, for that matter, to detect collisions, if it involves using non-primitive colliders and 3D transformations such as rotation and scale. Unity's collision solution is a general purpose one and quite inobtrusive. It's not the fastest in the world, but can be quite optimal if used with care, and I'm talking about lightly to moderately populated physics sandboxes. In games that use static colliders for detecting non-rigid overlaps and other volume contacts in a forceless manner, you cannot possibly implement a better solution on your own. It's just a waste of time.