Search Unity

How do I call a GUI on more than 1 scene?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by AndrewM5, Jul 3, 2019.

1. AndrewM5

AndrewM5

I am very new to Unity and C#, just started about a week ago and have run into something that I do not know how to make for my final idea. My idea was to have a Main Menu when you start the game and a settings menu as well. I made that perfectly fine, however I need the settings menu to also be accessible to the player in the pause menu and all other levels in the game so they don't have to leave the game just to edit there settings. Like I said before I am very new to Unity and Coding C# in general. If anyone could help me that would be super helpful.

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

There's two main ways to approach this. You can make the settings menu its own prefab, where you instantiate it in any scene in which you need the settings menu. Alternatively, you can make the settings menu its own separate scene which you additive load alongside any main scene which needs access to the settings menu.

I typically go the prefab route for a settings menu, but I don't think either strategy is inherently superior to the other.

3. AndrewM5

AndrewM5