Search Unity

Question How do I build a Tron-like shader?

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by Palimon, Dec 13, 2019.

1. Palimon

Palimon

Hey all, I'm trying to build a simple asset creation pipeline using extremely low poly meshes and some simple mono-color materials, and then add some neon highlighting on various edges. A simple example would be the Tron carrier:

The goal is to select which edges have this highlighting, and what color it would be. My thought is that I could add vertex color to a mesh, and, where the vertex color is non-black, a shader will draw the highlighting. After a bunch of playing between Blender and Shader Graph, I've come up with this.

I mean...it's getting there, right? At this point, I have no idea how to continue. I'm brand new to shaders, and I'm not sure how to get the color to only run along the edge between like-colored vertices. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. fffMalzbier

fffMalzbier

You might need to add a multipler vector 1 if you want to have glow that you can set above 1.
    The vertex colors are only in 0-1 area but for glowing you most likely need values above 1.
    I hope this will work for your art-style.

3. alexanderameye

alexanderameye

I would use an edge detection shader, will give you less control over which edges have the glow effect though.

4. Palimon

Palimon

Thanks for the responses. To reiterate, I have no idea to keep the edge highlighting to just along the edge, and not bleed into the rest of the poly. In my image, you can see how the 4 red vertices make the entire top face red? I just want the red on the poly edges. No idea what shader mechanics (or Shader Graph nodes) to pursue towards that goal, and Google isn't being my friend right now.

5. bgolus

bgolus

Shaders don’t really have a way of detecting geometry edges, especially if you only want specific edges. You have to either build the lines into the geometry or use a texture to mark where the lines should be.

6. jamespaterson