Search Unity

How do I become a serious developer?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by tomicz, Jul 16, 2020.

1. tomicz

tomicz

Hello everyone,

This really bothers me for some time and I need your help. I am an experienced developer, with 4 years of experience, I built apps and I am far from that level where I used to copy other people code. I can build most things myself and I understand how software architecture works.

But lately I am coming into job interview problems and I realised that I am not that good. On interviews they set these really hard algorithmic tasks that I never face in real life when I am working for a client on the app. Last few days I failed a programming interview even though I know they could benefit from my overall skillset. Keep in mind that I worked all my life alone (there are no Unity developers around me, I live in a small place) and I do not have benefits of working with other programmers where we would naturally share our experience.

Honestly I am bad at math and I always been, so I am naturally bad at algorithmic problems. As I started to create some custom generated things I started to understand how math is needed here. But I do not mind learning it. Could someone help me on where I could start? Do I need to understand algebra? I am really eager to learn and I am sick of being an average programmer, I really want to up my level!

PraetorBlue likes this.
  2. PraetorBlue

PraetorBlue

Your title says "how do I become a serious developer" but your question reads more like "how do I get better at coding interviews". I'll answer the latter: Practice!

Here's a great long list of "interview" style questions: https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/practice-for-cracking-any-coding-interview/#hashing Maybe do a few of these every day. Most interview questions can be decomposed into one of only a few common programming paradigms. Not close to an exhaustive list but these are things like
    • recursion
    • dynamic programming