Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

how did you get started in game dev?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kablammyman, Aug 25, 2011.

1. kablammyman

kablammyman

As the topic asks, how did you get started?

I'll go first.

I started with klk n' play at the age of 15 (i think it was 1997?). Klik n play is like a primitive unity, but for win 3.1 then win 95.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Klik

Anyway, I knew this wasn't how things were done in the pro world, but it was a good way to wrap my mind around making games. So, I started programming in QBASIC. This was a just to get my feet wet in programming until i was ready to move into C, the language that I was told I should learn if I wanted games. (Back then C++ was still en evil, and slow language!) C and ASM made games!

So, at 16 I started programming in C. I made games in DOS. I had to use interupts to set the video mode (mode 13h, or 320x200 256 colors) I used bit-mapped graphics I made in code, (think of an array of numbers to correspond to each pixel) and used other DOS interrupts and ASM to get input and play sound effects. I used the good ole' free DJGG compiler that i downloaded on my 33.6k modem, that was dialed into AOL 2.5! I would go to the different chat rooms and personal webpages to learn what resources there were, what books to look at, who would give source code to learn from, and to download other small games to keep me inspired (seeing a small game play well, was inspiring because i figured that i could do that too! )