Search Unity

How come gamedev is said to be so... Expensive?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TheBlackBox, Jan 5, 2016.

?

Have you ever spent money just for the development of your game?

1. Yes

76.7%
  2. No

18.6%
  3. I'd rather not say...

4.7%
  1. TheBlackBox

TheBlackBox

Hey there,

I was thinking to myself - how come making a game is always described as being expensive? The development process in particular?

I've been working with Unity for two years now (I'm finally getting to the point where I'm starting to develop seriously, instead of for fun :p ) and although I've never finished a game I've still never actually seen the need to spend money on what I'm developing...

So what do you guys spend money on that makes developing expensive?
    Have I just not reached the need for money yet, as I've never really neared completion on any of my projects?

or is the whole 'Expensive development' thing something mainly limited to Indie teams?

Thanks - Brandon.

2. LaneFox

LaneFox

When you start spending money, you'll start finishing games.

Gigiwoo, Kondor0 and GarBenjamin like this.
  3. TheBlackBox

TheBlackBox

Really, why's that?

4. AcidArrow

AcidArrow

Software, computers, expertise, music, texture libraries, (or cameras to capture your own), sound libraries (or equipment to record sounds), paying accountants, travelling to conferences and tradeshows.

Some cost can be replaced by time, but then time becomes too much and you never finish your project.

It also all depends on the game you're making.

5. TheBlackBox

TheBlackBox

So most costs are just for equipment and some assets?