Search Unity

How can I update my forked git repository master from the main master?

Discussion in 'Open Projects' started by midlifemachine, Oct 4, 2020.

1. midlifemachine

midlifemachine

Hi all,

I am fairly new to programming and using Git Hub. Git says that my branch is 13 commits behind UnityTechnologies:master.

Simple question. How can I update my repository so that I can work with the latest code?

Thanks,
    Christoph

Pritte likes this.
  2. midlifemachine

midlifemachine

I think I found a way to update the repository. Did a pull request on my own forked repository and approved it so that the Unity Master gets merged with my forked master.

Looks like that worked. Please let me know, if this was the wrong solution.

Quick question. My repository now says: 'This branch is 1 commit ahead of UnityTechnologies:master.'

Will that be a problem?

3. cirocontinisio

cirocontinisio

Yes, you could have also just merged (you don't need to open a request on your own repo).
    Merging means that you are taking all the 13 changes that are on master, and merging them into your work. Now that they are merged, you are up to date with master.

If you are ahead it means that you produced new changes, and so now technically Unity's master is behind you. When you open a pull request (PR) you are asking Unity to pull (and merge) your work into their master, bringing Unity's master to your level... so they are up to date with you.

Clear?

Pritte likes this.
  4. Pritte

Pritte

I was having the same difficulty, since I've never had to use forks, pull requests, etc.
    I found out this link

It speaks of what Ciro was saying about merging, if you're using Github Desktop, this might make your job easier, good luck!

5. midlifemachine

midlifemachine

Thanks for your reply.

It makes sense, but I wasn't clear how to merge without doing a pull request. I couldn't find a merge option or button on github.com when in my repository.