Search Unity

Bug How can I solve this error with Package Manager?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by AbrahamRmz, Aug 25, 2022.

  1. AbrahamRmz

    AbrahamRmz

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, so these last 3 days I've been trying to resolve the following error, it happens whenever I open the Package Manager, in My Assets, also when trying to download an asset and when trying to import it:



     
    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEditor.PackageManager.UI.Window:ShowPackageManagerWindow(UnityEditor.MenuCommand)

    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallDelayFunctions()

    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_FocusChanged (bool)

    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(int,intptr,bool&)

    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEditor.AsyncHTTPClient:Done (UnityEditor.AsyncHTTPClient/State,int)

    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEditor.PackageManager.UI.Internal.AssetStoreDownloadManager/DownloadDelegateHandler:OnDownloadProgress (string,string,ulong,ulong,int)

    Failed to import package with error: Couldn't decompress package UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent (int,intptr,bool&)


    Versions where this error showed: 2021.3.8f1 & 2022.1.14f1

    I've been looking everywhere and I haven't found a real fix for this, so I will try to list all the things I've tried:

    • Restart Unity

    • Restart Unity Hub

    • Log-out and log-in

    • Reinstalling Unity

    • Installing new Unity Version

    • Resetting packages to defaults

    • Updating all modules

    • Deleted the Asset Store-5.x folder

    • I made sure I had enough space in my disk

    • Renaming Unity Packages (making sure there is no wierd characters or spaces)

    • Renaming Folders (making sure there is no wierd characters or spaces)

    • Went to Project Settings > Player > Other Settings > Scripting Backend and changed it from Mono to IL2CPP
    I'm kinda desperated already, but hopefully someone can help me solve this.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2022
    Strannik-next likes this.
  2. mrchacko

    mrchacko

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    I am having the same issue now. I have done pretty much all of the same troubleshooting.

    A lot of my assets won't import.
     
  3. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,690
    Extra unwanted packages in new projects (collab, testing, rider and other junk):

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/temp-unityengine-testrunner-dll-error.1133938/#post-7287748

    About the fastest way I have found to make a project and avoid all this noise is to create the project, then as soon as you see the files appear, FORCE-STOP (hard-kill) Unity (with the Activity Manager or Task Manager), then go hand-edit the Packages/manifest.json file as outlined in the above post, then reopen Unity.

    Sometimes the package system gets borked from all this unnecessary churn and requires the package cache to be cleared:

    https://stackoverflow.com/questions/53145919/unity3d-package-cache-errors/69779122
     
  4. tracy2css

    tracy2css

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2023
    Posts:
    4
    do you resolve the issue?
     
  5. tracy2css

    tracy2css

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2023
    Posts:
    4
    upload_2023-7-19_15-50-49.png

    I resolved it.

    clean/redirect/reset the cache folder for package manager
     
    breylinlee likes this.
  6. breylinlee

    breylinlee

    Joined:
    May 4, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    The solution provided by #5 works for me.
    And I find another probable reason which may cause this issue: the names of your cache folder and asset folder may include invalid letters or punctuation mark. I used to store my assets under D://cache!/...., where the "!" may be the cause...
     
  7. navinkumarpk

    navinkumarpk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2023
    Posts:
    1


    I am trying to extract Stronghold Definitive Edition graphic assets (see above). Keep getting the
    'Failed to import package with error: Couldn't decompress package' error. How can I go about this?