Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only. On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live. Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Bug How can I solve this error with Package Manager?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by AbrahamRmz, Aug 25, 2022.

  1. AbrahamRmz

    AbrahamRmz

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, so these last 3 days I've been trying to resolve the following error, it happens whenever I open the Package Manager, in My Assets, also when trying to download an asset and when trying to import it:



     
    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEditor.PackageManager.UI.Window:ShowPackageManagerWindow(UnityEditor.MenuCommand)

    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallDelayFunctions()

    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_FocusChanged (bool)

    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(int,intptr,bool&)

    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEditor.AsyncHTTPClient:Done (UnityEditor.AsyncHTTPClient/State,int)

    IsReadOnly is not implemented by this handler UnityEditor.PackageManager.UI.Internal.AssetStoreDownloadManager/DownloadDelegateHandler:OnDownloadProgress (string,string,ulong,ulong,int)

    Failed to import package with error: Couldn't decompress package UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent (int,intptr,bool&)


    Versions where this error showed: 2021.3.8f1 & 2022.1.14f1

    I've been looking everywhere and I haven't found a real fix for this, so I will try to list all the things I've tried:

    • Restart Unity

    • Restart Unity Hub

    • Log-out and log-in

    • Reinstalling Unity

    • Installing new Unity Version

    • Resetting packages to defaults

    • Updating all modules

    • Deleted the Asset Store-5.x folder

    • I made sure I had enough space in my disk

    • Renaming Unity Packages (making sure there is no wierd characters or spaces)

    • Renaming Folders (making sure there is no wierd characters or spaces)

    • Went to Project Settings > Player > Other Settings > Scripting Backend and changed it from Mono to IL2CPP
    I'm kinda desperated already, but hopefully someone can help me solve this.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2022
  2. mrchacko

    mrchacko

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    I am having the same issue now. I have done pretty much all of the same troubleshooting.

    A lot of my assets won't import.
     
  3. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    39,571
    Extra unwanted packages in new projects (collab, testing, rider and other junk):

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/temp-unityengine-testrunner-dll-error.1133938/#post-7287748

    About the fastest way I have found to make a project and avoid all this noise is to create the project, then as soon as you see the files appear, FORCE-STOP (hard-kill) Unity (with the Activity Manager or Task Manager), then go hand-edit the Packages/manifest.json file as outlined in the above post, then reopen Unity.

    Sometimes the package system gets borked from all this unnecessary churn and requires the package cache to be cleared:

    https://stackoverflow.com/questions/53145919/unity3d-package-cache-errors/69779122
     
  4. tracy2css

    tracy2css

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2023
    Posts:
    4
    do you resolve the issue?
     
  5. tracy2css

    tracy2css

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2023
    Posts:
    4
    upload_2023-7-19_15-50-49.png

    I resolved it.

    clean/redirect/reset the cache folder for package manager
     
    breylinlee likes this.
  6. breylinlee

    breylinlee

    Joined:
    May 4, 2019
    Posts:
    11
    The solution provided by #5 works for me.
    And I find another probable reason which may cause this issue: the names of your cache folder and asset folder may include invalid letters or punctuation mark. I used to store my assets under D://cache!/...., where the "!" may be the cause...
     
  7. navinkumarpk

    navinkumarpk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2023
    Posts:
    1


    I am trying to extract Stronghold Definitive Edition graphic assets (see above). Keep getting the
    'Failed to import package with error: Couldn't decompress package' error. How can I go about this?
     
  8. TawhidOOF

    TawhidOOF

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Found another solution, navigate to the package, press the download button and immediately pause it. After a while unpause it and it downloads without any error !
     
    SteeelS likes this.