Search Unity

How can I optimize my frag shader containing an if-statement within a for-loop?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Mufas, Mar 31, 2020.

1. Mufas

Mufas

The following code needs to be optimized as it takes way too much memory, but I simply can't figure out how to do it. I'm fairly new to shaders
    Any help would be appriciated :)

Code (CSharp):
    1. fixed4 frag (v2f i) : SV_Target
    2.             {
    3.                 fixed4 col = float4(1,1,1,1);
    5.                 //How far equals one step
    6.                 float step = 1 / _OcclusionMapHeight;
    8.                 //Checks all pixels below the current in the occlusion Map (_MainTex)
    9.                 [loop]          
    10.                 for(float y = 0; y < i.uv.y; y+=step)
    11.                 {
    12.                     float4 colTemp = tex2D(_MainTex, float2(i.uv.x, y));
    14.                     if(colTemp.a > 0) //checks if the pixels isn't completely transparent
    15.                     {
    16.                         col = float4(0,0,0,0);
    17.                         return col;
    18.                     }
    19.                 }
    21.                 return col;
    22.             }
    Update: Here is what the code does: I have a texture with transparent parts and none transparent parts. The shader colors every pixel from the bottom up to the first none transparent pixel white, while every pixel above those, black and transparent.
    The code does exactly what I want, except it slows the fps tremendously.

Update 2: I changed the [unroll(1024)] to [loop], which improved the code significantly, although it is still rather heavy/slow. Thanks for the tip bgolus.
    I also changed it in the code above, for an easier read of the current code. Should I update a code block in such a manner or not? I don't really know, if that is the normal manner.

Last edited: Mar 31, 2020
  2. Olmi

Olmi