Search Unity

Question How Can I make this code work?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by master-tugi, Mar 21, 2023.

  1. master-tugi

    master-tugi

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2023
    Posts:
    5
    Hi. I made this code following a tutorial. But I want it to function. How can I do it?
    Thanks.
    Code:
    public class ObjectMover : MonoBehaviour {
    private bool canMove = true;

    void Start() {
    StartCoroutine(MoveObject());
    }

    IEnumerator MoveObject() {
    while (true) {
    if (canMove) {
    transform.Translate(Vector3.right * 10f);
    canMove = false;
    yield return new WaitForSeconds(20f);
    canMove = true;
    }
    yield return null;
    }
    }
    }
     
  2. Olipool

    Olipool

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Posts:
    322
    Please put your code in code tags! :)
    What o you expect from the code and what does it do?
    I assume you have put it on a game object (maybe a cube) and it should move 10 units to the right every 20 seconds?

    First thing to do would be to remove all "canMove" checks and assignments because it has no purpose like it is right now, then your code gets a bit cleaner.
     
    TheDevloper likes this.
  3. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,744
    Then you should go make it function!

    Remember:

    - we cannot read your mind
    - we cannot see your screen.
    - we are not gonna go do the tutorial just to tell you where you messed up

    Therefore it is 100% on you to learn how to communicate technical issues. Here's a simple guide:

    How to report your problem productively in the Unity3D forums:

    http://plbm.com/?p=220

    This is the bare minimum of information to report:

    - what you want
    - what you tried
    - what you expected to happen
    - what actually happened, especially any errors you see
    - links to documentation you used to cross-check your work (CRITICAL!!!)

    You may edit your post above.

    If you post a code snippet, ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS:

    How to use code tags: https://forum.unity.com/threads/using-code-tags-properly.143875/

    If you're hammering code in from a tutorial, keep this mind:

    Tutorials and example code are great, but keep this in mind to maximize your success and minimize your frustration:

    How to do tutorials properly, two (2) simple steps to success:

    Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every step must be taken, every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly, literally NOTHING can be omitted or skipped.

    Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right: Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes.
    BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE!!


    If you get any errors, learn how to read the error code and fix your error. Google is your friend here. Do NOT continue until you fix your error. Your error will probably be somewhere near the parenthesis numbers (line and character position) in the file. It is almost CERTAINLY your typo causing the error, so look again and fix it.

    Step 2. Go back and work through every part of the tutorial again, and this time explain it to your doggie. See how I am doing that in my avatar picture? If you have no dog, explain it to your house plant. If you are unable to explain any part of it, STOP. DO NOT PROCEED. Now go learn how that part works. Read the documentation on the functions involved. Go back to the tutorial and try to figure out WHY they did that. This is the part that takes a LOT of time when you are new. It might take days or weeks to work through a single 5-minute tutorial. Stick with it. You will learn.

    Step 2 is the part everybody seems to miss. Without Step 2 you are simply a code-typing monkey and outside of the specific tutorial you did, you will be completely lost. If you want to learn, you MUST do Step 2.

    Of course, all this presupposes no errors in the tutorial. For certain tutorial makers (like Unity, Brackeys, Imphenzia, Sebastian Lague) this is usually the case. For some other less-well-known content creators, this is less true. Read the comments on the video: did anyone have issues like you did? If there's an error, you will NEVER be the first guy to find it.

    Beyond that, Step 3, 4, 5 and 6 become easy because you already understand!

    Finally, when you have errors, don't post here... just go fix your errors! Here's how:

    Remember: NOBODY here memorizes error codes. That's not a thing. The error code is absolutely the least useful part of the error. It serves no purpose at all. Forget the error code. Put it out of your mind.

    The complete error message contains everything you need to know to fix the error yourself.

    The important parts of the error message are:

    - the description of the error itself (google this; you are NEVER the first one!)
    - the file it occurred in (critical!)
    - the line number and character position (the two numbers in parentheses)
    - also possibly useful is the stack trace (all the lines of text in the lower console window)

    Always start with the FIRST error in the console window, as sometimes that error causes or compounds some or all of the subsequent errors. Often the error will be immediately prior to the indicated line, so make sure to check there as well.

    Look in the documentation. Every API you attempt to use is probably documented somewhere. Are you using it correctly? Are you spelling it correctly?

    All of that information is in the actual error message and you must pay attention to it. Learn how to identify it instantly so you don't have to stop your progress and fiddle around with the forum.
     
  4. Bunny83

    Bunny83

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Posts:
    4,004
    A lot in your coroutine have no effect or is completely pointless. Your coroutine could be simplified to:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. IEnumerator MoveObject()
    2. {
    3.     while (true)
    4.     {
    5.         transform.Translate(Vector3.right * 10f);
    6.         yield return new WaitForSeconds(20f);
    7.     }
    8. }
    That's all what effectively happening. Your boolean variable has no effect at all. Your coroutine actually waits at the yield statement. Your coroutine sets "canMove" to false before the yield statement, so the variable is false all the time. When your coroutine resumes, you set the canMove variable briefly to true. That means your if statement inside your while loop will always be true when the coroutine resumes. Just when entering your if statement you set the variable immediately back to false. So from the outside of the coroutine the variable will always be false. So it's completely pointless. Your code also waits 20 seconds and then moves the object 10 units to the right. Is that what the script is supposed to do? If not, tell us what you expect the code to do.
     
    TheDevloper likes this.
  5. master-tugi

    master-tugi

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2023
    Posts:
    5
    Thank you. The thing I expected was the object was going to move 10x, then wait 20 seconds, then move it again. I'sm going to switch this part with my code and see If its working.
     
  6. master-tugi

    master-tugi

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2023
    Posts:
    5
    Hi, its me again. I tried the code, but it wanted me to choose a metadata.c file. I know nothing about them, so I just closed it. then unity crashed. this happens so often. Although I have no problems with the limitations of my device, whenever I close unity it shows an error and debug screen saying that it has crashed.
     
  7. master-tugi

    master-tugi

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2023
    Posts:
    5
    Hello. As you guessed, I expected the game object to move 10x, then wait 20 seconds, and move 10x again. So should I delete all the statements that include "canMove" right? I'am a beginner at these. Sorry if I bother you.
     
  8. Olipool

    Olipool

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Posts:
    322
    No bother at all :)
    Where did you put the script? In the scene on a gameobject? Can you maybe make a screenshot? I can't spot an error at the moment. And yes, you can remove all "canMove" stuff, Bunny83 gave an example above how short it could be.