Search Unity

How can I make a game icon? [Noob]

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by tomowale, Oct 13, 2016.

1. tomowale

tomowale

Hey guys!

I am all done with my game except for developing the actual icon for it. However, I have no idea how to go about this. Currently my budget is 0$ , so my only option is Paint.net [ unless there is a better engine out there]. My game is just a game where you control a barrel and try to catch falling coins from above. How can I go about making a relevant icon? Keep in mind , that I have no previous experience with creating app icons.

2. larku

larku

Gimp is a free "photoshop like" program that will likely be better than Paint.net.

There's also lots of tutorials you could follow to create what you need. Google search for: gimp icon tutorial

There's also inkscape if you want to use vector images.

3. tomowale

tomowale

Hmmm , ok. Do you know where I can get pictures I can use in the icon? My current idea is to have a shining coin falling into the bucket below with some type of cool background. However, I'm not sure where I would get the images of the coin etc to use. Do I draw them myself or does Gimp allow me to make these?

4. larku

larku

You'll find lots of free images (of varying quality) by doing searches for different image types:

free svg
    free png
    free jpg
    free icons

etc

This search may be very useful: inkscape tutorial coin

5. tomowale

tomowale

Thanks. I'm not sure if you have experience in making app icons but , do you think I should go with the easier approach of a cool looking logo for my icon , or go full out with the barrel and coin? As I'm quite confused on how to make an icon.

Last edited: Oct 13, 2016
  6. larku

larku

I'm most certainly not an artist. I know some tools and can fumble along with a tutorial etc but I'm not one to give such advice.

I'd have a play and see how it goes.