Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How can I grab shader Vertex Offsets and store into Mesh?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by TheoKain, Nov 3, 2018.

1. TheoKain

TheoKain

I'm fairly new to this pipeline and have spent all day researching and testing, but with little success. I'm looking for a detailed walkthrough of getting vertex offset data from the shader's vertex program into a c# mesh.vertices array.

What I've tried is (I'm using a custom amplify shader to write the vertex shader)
    - output the vertex offsets to the albedo,
    - in c#, make a rendertexture,
    - graphics.blit to it
    - readpixels and then
    - getpixels of the color array into a vector3[] array to feed back into mesh.vertices

Code (CSharp):
    1. RenderTexture resultBuffer, temp;
    2.         temp = RenderTexture.GetTemporary(rendTexSize, rendTexSize, 0, RenderTextureFormat.ARGBFloat, RenderTextureReadWrite.Linear);
    3.         resultBuffer = RenderTexture.GetTemporary(rendTexSize, rendTexSize, 0, RenderTextureFormat.ARGBFloat, RenderTextureReadWrite.Linear);
    5.         Graphics.Blit(temp, resultBuffer, mat, -1);
    6.         RenderTexture.ReleaseTemporary(temp);
    8.         Texture2D decTex = new Texture2D(resultBuffer.width, resultBuffer.height, TextureFormat.RGBAFloat, false);
    9.         decTex.filterMode = FilterMode.Point;
    10.         RenderTexture.active = resultBuffer;
    11.         decTex.ReadPixels(new Rect(0, 0, resultBuffer.width, resultBuffer.height), 0, 0);
    12.         decTex.Apply();
    13.         RenderTexture.active = null;
    14.         Color[] colors = decTex.GetPixels();
    16.         Vector3[] results = new Vector3[colors.Length];
    17.         for(int i=0; i<colors.Length; i++)
    18.         {
    19.             results[i].x = colors[i].r;