Search Unity

Question How can i edit/Extend the Visual scripting Graphs UI

Discussion in 'Visual Scripting' started by S2NX7, Sep 5, 2023.

  1. S2NX7

    S2NX7

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2021
    Posts:
    39
    I want to know if its possible to edit the UI of the graph window and if so how do i do it like can i add a button to the tool bar or add another side bar?
     
    iScriptz likes this.
  2. termway

    termway

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Posts:
    84
    UVS Finder adds a context menu to find the selected unit in graph but it seems quite complicated (it involves injection)
    You can take a look at this script:
    https://github.com/myanko/uvs-finde.../ContextExtension/UVSGraphElementWidgetExt.cs

    Another way to make such a change would be to import the VisualScripting package in your project's local folder (Assets/) and edit the VisualScripting source code directly.
    I personally chose this approach because I wanted more control over VisualScripting (for example to improve error logs, add a summary attribute, ...)
     
    S2NX7 likes this.
  3. S2NX7

    S2NX7

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2021
    Posts:
    39
    If i edit the files directly it resets after a script reload and it would be difficult to add those changes to a package anyway but i will look into how UVS finder does it
     
  4. S2NX7

    S2NX7

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2021
    Posts:
    39
    Thanks btw i found how to use Harmony to edit the graphs UI
     
  5. termway

    termway

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Posts:
    84
    I'm glad it is working for you.

    Just to clarify for the second method: if you are using the package manager to import VisualScripting you cannot edit the source code.
    However, you can copy and paste the code from the package (Library/PackageCache/com.unity.visualscripting@1.8.0) into your project to modify it. (ex: Assets/ThirdParties/com.unity.visualscripting@1.8.0) and remove the VisualScripting package from the package manager.

    As they don't update this package often it can be a good solution too. In my opinion it is simpler than using Harmony.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2023
  6. S2NX7

    S2NX7

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2021
    Posts:
    39
    yea the thing is i want to edit visual scripting for the community addons so i cant add those changes to the package if i do it like that
     
    termway likes this.