Search Unity

How can i create conveyor belts with items on it in 2D top down

Discussion in '2D' started by Exthase, Oct 8, 2019.

1. Exthase

Exthase

Dear Community,
    after a couple of days trying and researching, I think its time to ask our kind forum to help me with this.
    About me: I'am a programmer in education in Germany, for a company that develop online shops.
    I mean i have some experience with OOP, structures and can understand a lot of stuff with algorithm.

I like to program some modular transportation belts for my game that are really like in factorio. But I stuck
    at the point how i would handle the items on the belt and how i should move them.
    I thought about some path or waypoint system that can be updates any time if the conveyor belt
    changes (building / destroying). Factorio has 2 item rows on the conveyor belts that are independent.
    If this makes no big changes to the normal one row behavior please take this in consideration.

ATTENTION! The Camera view is top down and the game is 2D - something like Factorio

The Code i need would be written in C#, but i would understand Javascript, C++, Java, PHP
    or some other modern languages as well.

I saw a source-code of a game called: Mindustry - well made and has even Multiplayer, but i didn't understand the complex mechanic behind the item handling.

If anyone can help me with this, not very simple question - i would really appreciate it.

Thank you for reading

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

Hey.
    I have seen you PM. It is fine. But you could be a bit more patient and wait day or two before sending one, as someone could replay here in that time.

Regarding belts and items, please check factorio blog post
    https://www.factorio.com/blog/post/fff-176
    It should give you some ideas to start of.

It is worth to check also other blog posts.

All best.

Exthase likes this.
  3. Exthase

Exthase

First, thank you for your reply and for your time.