Search Unity

How bad of an idea is this procedural game design?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by guildtag, Nov 9, 2019.

1. guildtag

guildtag

This is my first attempt at building a game. I've made a good bit of progress but the further I get the more I keep doubting my design decisions:

I'm building a procedural turn based low-poly rpg that can have very large maps.
    - Each tile is it's own game object.
    - Each object on the tile is it's own game object.
    - Right now I am not combining any meshes because I want the player to be able to interact with individual tiles /objects while in combat and in builder mode (where they can change the mesh of tiles/objects)
    - I am using real time lighting for shadows right now...

I wrote code to chunk the map up based on current player location, but each chunk is 100 tiles, and I load the chunks adjacent to the player also so at minimum there are always 900 tiles loaded and a few hundred objects.

Performance is ok on my desktop. Still above 70 fps. WebGL is already a little laggy but playable since it is turn based.

Am I prematurely worried about optimization or is this design doomed? Any advice is appreciated!

Unity_1QyMUmdPgI.png

2. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

Target platform is the question.

Be sure to selectively disable shadows on things that don't need them.

Seems you focused on technicals but I want to share one opinion I have about procedural design: I've never played a game with procedural levels that hooked me long enough for it to matter.

I think focusing on technically complex level design before classic, linear, hand placed level design is backwards way to go.

Last edited: Nov 9, 2019
  3. guildtag

guildtag

If I were only targeting pc would you say the design is acceptable?

4. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

Absolutely. Maybe chunk size can be messed with to find optimal solution, but that's simple matter right.