Search Unity

Official Hollow Boat Effect

Discussion in 'Open Projects' started by erizzoalbuquerque, Nov 27, 2020.

1. erizzoalbuquerque

erizzoalbuquerque

M_MG_S and itsLevi0sa like this.
  2. erizzoalbuquerque

erizzoalbuquerque

@cirocontinisio suggested we use the Renderer Features to solve this problem and as I have no experience with it, I'm interested in working on this problem.

3. shuttle127

shuttle127

I could be way off since I'm new to this too, but maybe some variation of the character occlusion solution might fix the problem? Like make a layer for the water separate from objects in the water and play around with the opaqueness/transparency of each layer?

erizzoalbuquerque likes this.
  4. erizzoalbuquerque

erizzoalbuquerque

As I imagine a cutscene with our protagonist inside the boat while arriving at the island, my objective is to remove the water from this picture:

upload_2020-11-26_22-52-3.png

The outside of the boat should still appear under the water while should exist no water inside the boat.

I have little experience with graphics. After some research, the only way I could think of solving this problem was creating some kind of mask plane that specifies that the water shouldn't be drawn in some pixels.

(I'll continue the post explaining what I did so far)

Attached Files:

5. erizzoalbuquerque

erizzoalbuquerque

I decided to use Stencil Shaders inspired by these posts, I decided to use Stencil Shaders. Also, I never used nothing like this, so it was a good opportunity to learn. (Although, I'm not sure this is the best approach. But seems okay...)

https://medium.com/@aarhed/stencil-shaders-98dc5af347d4

https://bdts.com.au/tips-and-resour...s-with-the-universal-render-pipeline-urp.html

First I created a temp geometry that will work as a mask

upload_2020-11-26_23-3-10.png

Then I created a new layer "HideWaterMask" for it:

upload_2020-11-26_23-5-49.png

I also put the Water GameObject in the "Water" layer