Search Unity

Unity UI Hitting Apply on Prefab Zeroes Out RectTransform x and y Position

Discussion in 'Unity UI (uGUI) & TextMesh Pro' started by enchiridion, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. enchiridion

    enchiridion

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    56
    Hi

    Ever since updating to 2017.3, some of my prefabs have this bug when I hit the apply prefab button.

    A random amount of child objects rectTransform x and y values become 0.

    Now sometimes eventhough they are 0, they still appear in the correct position when running the game, yet sometimes they are at position 0.

    It is extremely frustrating because sometimes I do not notice this and then I zero out an entire UI screen, which is slowing down my work flow.

    Anyone else experience this?
     
  2. Zwilnik

    Zwilnik

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Posts:
    62
  3. enchiridion

    enchiridion

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    56
  4. enchiridion

    enchiridion

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    56
    I discovered this only happens if the prefab is parented in a Canvas. If you simply drag it into the scene it works as intended. However, this is undesired behavior and must still be fixed ASAP.

    2017.3.0p3
     
unityunity