Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Hit the shield, shockwave-like part effect

Discussion in 'Visual Effect Graph' started by longlcqt, Oct 23, 2021.

1. longlcqt

longlcqt

I'm trying to create the particle effect on the shield at the video below. I feel like it can be done using VFX Graph but i'm new to this. Can somebody help me? Thank you very much.

2. Qriva

Qriva

Hello, I am going to assume you are talking about orange shield in 6' second of the clip.

If you are very new to VFX effects I would not recommend creating something like that. In reality most of nice effects require good knowledge of shaders and effect like this (above) does not require dedicated tool like vfx graph, because shader does most of the job.

In case you really need something similar, then I have seen this tutorial some time ago, but from what I remember this is not the best approach. The easiest way I can think of to tackle this problem can be spawning small "hit" animated particles in place where projectile hit the shield. There would be collider or something to detect where projectile shattered (hit) and you would spawn particle in this point with direction along the sphere normals (like decal on the sphere). This particle would require animated shader with hit effect.

Anyway if you are new to shaders it would be better to start with something more simple like this:

longlcqt likes this.
  3. longlcqt

longlcqt

Thank you very much for your support. Yes I'm talking about the "particles speading on the sphere's surface" effect.

If you have any sources or articles about creating this effect, that would be great.I don't mind if they are advanced. I'm very curious about this effect.