Search Unity

Hilarious Code

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dustin-Horne, Dec 23, 2015.

1. Dustin-Horne

Dustin-Horne

Thought I'd start something a little fun. Is there any hilarious code you've found when working on projects? This could be code you did in the past or someone else. One rule, no finger pointing / naming actual people, just funny code.

Here is a snippet of code I found while doing a code review for an offshore team we are working with. In fairness they are almost all junior developers. What makes the code below so funny is that vendorId is an "int".

doh.PNG

Deleted User and jpthek9 like this.
  2. AndrewGrayGames

AndrewGrayGames

Have you found The Daily WTF?

My first mentor showed that site to me as an instructional aid when I was a new developer, the point being, just because you can do something in code, does not mean you should.

There's some good ones in there.

3. N1warhead

N1warhead

Wish I had some to share but that is really funny lmao.

Dustin-Horne and AndrewGrayGames like this.
  4. Dustin-Horne

Dustin-Horne

I have, it's a great site. I used to get Visual Studio Magazine as well before they stopped sending it out in print and they had a section called Dev Disasters that was great.

Another one I found that they did was a Dictionary that used a Dictionary as a key, so it was like:

Dictionary<Dictionary<string, int>, string>

It was mind boggling.

AndrewGrayGames and Deleted User like this.
  5. N1warhead

N1warhead

*Face Palms* lmao lol.

I always thought coding was pretty straight forward. I mean obviously when I first started learning to code it took me a little bit, but after about a month or so I caught on to how repetitive everything is, I found quickly I'm almost always using the same things over and over again. float, int, list, bool, and so on.

6. neginfinity

neginfinity

You know, unless I overlooked something...