Search Unity

High school student seeking University Advice

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PhilipV, Aug 16, 2010.

1. PhilipV

PhilipV

Hey all,
    As some of you might know, I'm an italian high school student that is now going to start his last year before heading into college/university.

I have always been interested in computers, as a lot of people from my generation, but I took it one step further and headed into programming, first with Unity ( and I would like to give a big thank to all the people behind Unity, that made this possible for me ) and then with more in-depth ( and useless, with my level of knoweledge, some might say ), XNA, Ogre C++/DirectX programming.

I am nowhere to say that I am an experienced coder or programmer, but I can say that I enjoy doing it, and that I lately became fairly proficient, up to the point of freelancing for some random jobs around the internet, and the only thing that prevented me from actually completing a project, is that I have sub-zero skills in graphics, and I never wanted to really "draw" anything.

I am now writing this because I am to take a decision really soon: what university ( and where ) should I attend.

And now a big question arises: where do university courses lead to? What are the oportunities they offer?

I've alredy had some sort of feedback from some "biggies" working in computer graphics, as they are from my same home town, and I had managed to talk with them ( if anyone cares, the guy behind the fur animation in King Kong, and another one who worked on procedural content generation for the avatar movie ).