Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback High resources usage on edit mode idle

Discussion in 'Unity Remote Config' started by Dzistu, Nov 18, 2021.

  1. Dzistu

    Dzistu

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hi
    I am playing with newest package of remote config (version 2.1.2) inside Unity 2021.2.0f1.
    The issue I want to report is that remote config window is using way too much CPU.
    The project is empty, just the remote config window is visible and docked next to scene view.
    Everything happens in Edit mode. Inside remote config I have only one campaign (production) with only one entry, which is json entry (a short json, less than 1kb). I am not doing anything inside unity and it still uses 25% of my CPU. I launched profiler to see what is causing this and it looks like it is remote config window fault (screenshot below)
    upload_2021-11-18_22-11-14.png upload_2021-11-18_22-14-44.png

    My CPU is Intel Core i7-9750H and GPU RTX 2060, so this is not the fault of weak hardware :D
     
  2. SebT_Unity

    SebT_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    283
    Hi Dzistu,
    Thanks for getting in touch and reporting this problem.
    We did address a memory leak in version 2.1.2 but if you updated recently then you shouldn't be getting this issue. We will try to preproduce the issue with that exact Unity version 2021.2.0f1. and get back to you as soon as possible.

    Best,
    Sebastiano
     
  3. SebT_Unity

    SebT_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    283
    Hi Dzistu,

    Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.
    I was able to reproduce the issue and have reported the issue to our engineering team.
    This actually effects multiple versions of Unity + Remote config.

    As a workaround simply closing the window in my tests seem to eliminate the increased power usage.

    Thanks for your help in spotting this.