Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We are updating our Terms of Service for all Unity subscription plans, effective October 13, 2022, to create a more streamlined, user-friendly set of terms. Please review them here: unity.com/legal/terms-of-service.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Join us on Thursday, September 29, for a day with Unity's SRP teams here on the forum or on Reddit, and discuss topics around URP, HDRP, and the Scriptable Render Pipeline in general.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback High resources usage on edit mode idle

Discussion in 'Unity Remote Config' started by Dzistu, Nov 18, 2021.

  1. Dzistu

    Dzistu

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hi
    I am playing with newest package of remote config (version 2.1.2) inside Unity 2021.2.0f1.
    The issue I want to report is that remote config window is using way too much CPU.
    The project is empty, just the remote config window is visible and docked next to scene view.
    Everything happens in Edit mode. Inside remote config I have only one campaign (production) with only one entry, which is json entry (a short json, less than 1kb). I am not doing anything inside unity and it still uses 25% of my CPU. I launched profiler to see what is causing this and it looks like it is remote config window fault (screenshot below)
    upload_2021-11-18_22-11-14.png upload_2021-11-18_22-14-44.png

    My CPU is Intel Core i7-9750H and GPU RTX 2060, so this is not the fault of weak hardware :D
     
  2. SebT_Unity

    SebT_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    112
    Hi Dzistu,
    Thanks for getting in touch and reporting this problem.
    We did address a memory leak in version 2.1.2 but if you updated recently then you shouldn't be getting this issue. We will try to preproduce the issue with that exact Unity version 2021.2.0f1. and get back to you as soon as possible.

    Best,
    Sebastiano
     
  3. SebT_Unity

    SebT_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    112
    Hi Dzistu,

    Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.
    I was able to reproduce the issue and have reported the issue to our engineering team.
    This actually effects multiple versions of Unity + Remote config.

    As a workaround simply closing the window in my tests seem to eliminate the increased power usage.

    Thanks for your help in spotting this.
     
unityunity