Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Hierarchy2 - A powerful Hierarchy extension

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by thienhaflash, Jan 16, 2014.

  1. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513

    Version 2.0 - Update 17.Sep.2016
    Buy on Asset Store ($30) | Forum discussion | Online Documentation

    Overview

    Hierarchy 2 adds the most essential and powerful features to your Unity Hierarchy . Full C# source code, blazing fast, works with Unity 4.3+ and Unity 5.x

    Features
    • Active, Static, Lock icons
    • Children count / Combine mode
    • Layers & Tags
    • Script Indicator
    • Prefab (Select, Break, Apply, Revert)
    • Components
    • Camera look through / Capture SceneView
    • SceneView Highlight
    • GameObject icon
    • Many other accessible features : Reset Transform, Create Primity, Context Menu, Parent Indicator, Inspector Lock, Goto Root / Parent / Child / Sibling, Copy Hierarchy Name, Ping current scene, Active Next, Active Prev, Icon offset, Icon space, Icon background ...
    • Customizable icons, colors and shortcuts
    • Works with Selection, support Undo
    • Upcoming features : Error Detection, Hierarchy Filtering, Hierarchy Stats, GameObject Highlighter, Scene References

    Help & Screenshots








    Any feedback, suggestions or bug report is more than welcome as always ! Thanks a lot for supporting us !
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2016
    rakkarage likes this.
  2. Play_Edu

    Play_Edu

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Posts:
    720
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2014
  3. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Hey, thanks man, I haven't thought about this before.

    This is a great idea, I will absolutely have a look to integrate it into Hierarchy in the next update :) Stay tune :)

    thanks.
     
  4. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Updated with some more GIF help
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2014
  5. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Version 1.1.0 is on the way, adding advanced context menu with many features, tutorial and help also updated.

    $Help0001.png

    Read more about What's New, Tutorial, and Help
     
  6. Becoming

    Becoming

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Posts:
    781
    Bravo! this is definitely on my shoppinglist :D
     
  7. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    thanks Becoming :) Hope it will be useful for many people out there ! :)
     
  8. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    I'm super excited to announce that Isolate modes is now supported in Hierarchy2, here is a quick demonstration. It will still takes several more days to clean up the documentation and update on AssetStore



    Thanks Play_Edu alot for this suggestion !!!
     
  9. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
  10. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
  11. vidjo

    vidjo

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Posts:
    97
    Hello! This is a great tool! Very glad I purchased!

    May I make a few suggestions though?

    First, I would like to request undo support for resetting an objects postition, etc.

    Secondly, I would like to see all the isolate options appear when you click the magnifying glass. $Capture.PNG
    The tool FavoritesTabs does this as well, and it is very convenient. Please ask me if it is not clear what I am suggesting.

    If its possible, to append your Ctrl+Click context menu to the default context click menu, that way I do not have to press ctrl, that would be nice.

    Mainly I am trying to save on time and number of user input actions. I hope you consider my suggestions, I am trying to help you make an even better product! :)
     
  12. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Hello vidjo,

    Thanks for supporting me by buying the package.

    This must be my mistake, Undo should work everywhere, I will check this again and issue a fix together with some new features in v1.3

    Currently I have no idea about how to do it, but I will definitely will have a look into it. If it's already possible in FavouriteTabs I thought I will be able to find a way to do it.

    I thought about this already as well but still I don't have a good way to do that yet. Good to know you need it, I will put some more research on this and make an update asap.

    Thanks vidjo a lot for your suggestions. If you have any other one, don't hesitate to tell, I'm always on all my ears.
     
  13. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    I've checked and seems that the Undo is working properly. One note (also on FAQ), not sure if it's your case or not

    Tell me if you still can not have the Undo working for you, I will check it once more.

    thanks.
     
  14. Flipbookee

    Flipbookee

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    2,498
    Hey there, congrats for the great looking extension! :D

    There was an visual issue when Hierarchy2 gets combined with my Favorites Tab extension so I've just released a small update so that it works nicely now with your awesome tool! :cool:

    Keep up the good work! ;)
     
  15. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Thanks a lot Flipbookee, you did a great job !

    I actually have plan to look into Favourite Tab and modify mine to make it works with yours but haven't got enough time to do so. I wonder how can you have time for this kind of work, as I know you are pushing very hard for Script Inspector 2's intellisense (still looking forward to this, btw).

    For everyone, If you haven't had a look on Flipbookee's Favourite Tab or Script Inspector2, you definitely must check it out, very very well-built and the developer is very generous, you can even ask for a preview version (with full source code) by pm him. What can you say ? why not try it out ?

    Thanks again, Flipbookee !
     
  16. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Sorry, I can't hold it, cross posting from the WIP thread :D New features comming in Hierarchy2 v1.3

    Look through this Camera



    Capture SceneView Camera

     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2014
  17. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Actually this is a really nice one and I haven't thought about it before. I found another way to make it works 90% alike to your suggesion, still not really sure if that 10% rest is better or worse but let's wait and see, a lot of work ahead but I'm working on it and it will be available in v1.4 (or even v1.3 ​if things gone well)

    This will be in for the upcomming v.13, thanks vidjo a lot for this suggestion, I was always wonder if I should do this way or just reserve the unity way so not to make people feel strange, without you raising your voice I will never know what other customers really think and need. so, thank you :)
     
  18. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Just a quick update to tell that version 1.3 is still on the way to Asset Store, trying to finish the document things before pushing it live ... A bit late than expected, but anyway, it's comming :) (cross posting from the WIP thread)

    Some screenshots for up comming features / changes :) Mainly reorganize the context menu and adding shortcuts.









     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2014
  19. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
  20. LightStriker

    LightStriker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,637
    One of the feature I would love, but I think would be very hard to implement, would be directories that are not GameObject.
     
  21. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Hello LightStriker,

    Yes, you are right, I've head about this request many times, too, but still not figure out a good way to do it.

    In theory, it still can be done if I rewrite the Hierarchy panel. In that case, not only this feature but also many other currently-impossible features (and being requested multiple times) can be integrate as well, like

    - Reordering children GameObjects by name, by z-value, by size
    - Drag and Drop from one Hierarchy panel to another (non-synchronize Hierarchy view), useful for big hierarchy, where we want to drop is really out of view
    - Add horizontal scrollbar for deep hierarchy, currently there are no horz scrollbar, so you need to resize the panel to see all the GameObject's name
    - Better tree look
    - Pin some GameObject to the top, like favorite thing
    - Filter GameObjects and keep the hierarchy (the hierarchy should not be flat out like current filter)
    - Divide GameObjects by group

    I don't know if there are any roadblocker that prevent these features to be implement yet ... but I think it's all possible. Still not sure how many people will find it useful as this will take a lot of time to implement. Maybe two or three months of work.

    So, what do you guys think, should I go for it ? :)
     
  22. LightStriker

    LightStriker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,637
    http://i.imgur.com/tLkxoE4.png

    You're right, directories requires rewriting the panel itself - sadly.

    I started doing it a while ago, and while it's fairly stable, my time was cut short from making it on par with the current panel.

    So if someone was to come up with a complete solution, they would have my money. ;)
     
  23. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    One more thing to consider is Unity is working on these kind of features or not, if I'm sure they are not doing it in near future, maybe I will try to implement it ... btw, your work shows in the screenshot is great, I'm sure that you have invested a lot of time on it :)

    I'm planning to add the icon before the GameObject's name, too, a bit like how it shown in your screenshot

    It's good to know that you also have special interest on improving how the Hierarchy works. We are on the same road, man :)
     
  24. LightStriker

    LightStriker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,637
    I think the most annoying part is to write a full TreeView from scratch. Unity could have been kind enough to expose that!
     
  25. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    I must agree with you about the TreeView implementation would be a pain in the ass, also, the current TreeView is very basic, it's very hard to handle big hierarchy, even if Unity expose the API, I don't think it's the best solution yet.

    I'm thinking of a more intelligent Tree where cloned GameObject got pack together to save space (and a more button to expand) like the way Windows Explorer is doing. I have a lot of cool ideas to put it but yet to have time to implement :( Maybe I should post some sketch about what I want it to be here to find out if it attracts many people's attention or not. If there are enough people looking for it, I will happily invest time :)
     
  26. AnomalusUndrdog

    AnomalusUndrdog

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,508
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2014
  27. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    @AnomalusUndrdog : Actually, It's not that simple, you will need to handle rename, focus, selection, copy, paste, drag drop, ping, scene filtering, ... a lot of things. And for really big scene, that might be a performance hog, so I belive that Unity implement it in native code instead of managed code to have performance gains. Of course we can still be able to do the TreeView ourself, but it's kind of troublesome to support all currently have features like focus, selection, copy, paste ...

    Also, I don't really like the foldout it's very hard to know where I am, especially in big and deep hierarchy. I have some ideas but yet have time to create a sketch or something :( maybe next week, working on Inspector2 right now, time's up and schedule is tight :)
     
  28. AnomalusUndrdog

    AnomalusUndrdog

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,508
    It's not that I want Hierarchy2 to have what LightStriker was asking. My point was that my guess, is that Unity doesn't have a specialized "TreeView" function call per se.

    Instead I think the way they did it, was using a combination of GUI functions that already exist: a series of calls to EditorGUI.Foldout for the names and their expand/collapse buttons, using GUI.TextField for when you want to rename an object, and so on.

    I joined the conversation late and I was just chiming in :p
     
  29. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    If that's the case, yes, they are doing exactly what you tell, a series calls to existed GUI functions :)
     
  30. LightStriker

    LightStriker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,637
    You would be surprised... UnityEditor.dll has an internal class named... "TreeView".
    Sadly, it's internal.
     
  31. AnomalusUndrdog

    AnomalusUndrdog

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,508
    Hmm.. ok I took a little... *cough cough* peek at the dll... nothing out of the ordinary. TreeView is a class in the .NET/Mono side. It's TreeViewGUI, another class in there, that handles the rendering, while I'm guessing TreeView handles the data.

    TreeView and TreeViewGUI simply use the existing GUI functions. It looks like it's created specifically for the Hierarchy view, and not a generalized tree view meant for general use.

    In fact I was wrong, it's not Foldout, the actual part that renders it is just a GUI.Toggle.

    However, they did make loads of code, and classes to make that TreeView. I do agree it's quite a lot of work to replicate what they did there.
     
  32. LightStriker

    LightStriker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,637
    Not surprised at all... My own personal TreeView is about 1.2k line of codes. Handling all the drag'n'drop, edit, rename, selection, multiselection, keyboard input, etc... It's a lot of behavior to support.
     
  33. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Wow, LightStriker, you are really really brave to do so, 1.2k is a lot, currently Hierarchy2 is only about 2.3k lines of code (with lots of comments). Do you have any plan on release it on the store or maybe open source ? It's a lot of work so it's not very useful if you keep it only for your self, do you think so ? Are there any technical problem ?
     
  34. LightStriker

    LightStriker

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,637
    No technical problem... Of course I don't plan on releasing something half done and not commented. :p
     
  35. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
  36. vidjo

    vidjo

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Posts:
    97
    So I dont know if its something on my part or not, but I have the Favorites Tabs extension and it was working so the Hierarchy2 hierarchy icons would move over(forever, not just on mouse over) when Favorites Tabs was also in the project. Now it appears to only move over when I mouse over a hierarchy item. I first noticed this when I just updated Hierarchy2, so I'm assuming it might have something to do with the update?
     
  37. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Hello vidjo,

    I haven't check with Favourite Tabs before release the update for Hierarchy2 v1.3.1 because I assume that I haven't change anything that may affects the hacks Favorite Tab have done in v1.2.8. I will check it now ... sorry man

    Update : I've check lastest Hierarchy2 v1.3.1 with Favorite Tabs v1.2.8 and they are working fine. The icons of Hierarchy2 is always offset about 25 pixels to the left, not only on mouse-over, and the stars will show when you are over each item. Please check again if you are using Favorite Tab v.1.2.8+

    Please do tell me if you are using the lastest version of Hierarchy2 and Favorite Tab and still got the problem, it's very important to me. I will absolutely have a look at it again and fix that !

    Thanks for reporting, vidjo
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2014
  38. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Hello vidjo,

    I just checked again and found the reason ...

    Just before releasing the update to the store I found that Hierarchy2 won't work with NGUI because there are some functions that was named the same so I changed the namespace to prevent the conflicts errors. After the change Favorite Tab can not find Hierarchy2 anymore because Hierarchy2 is now at a different namespace, and it does not work as you saw.

    I can not change the namespace back because it will be conflict with NGUI (or possibly some other 3rd plugins) again, so, I will inform the dev of Favorite Tab and ask him to change the name he used to find Hierarchy2.

    In the mean time, here is a quick fix for that :

    1. Open the FavoritesTab.cs script which is located at FlipbookGames\FavoritesTab\Editor\Scripts

    2. Goto line 1296, which currently is
    Code (csharp):
    1. typeOfHierarchy2 = typeof(TreeViewTracker).Assembly.GetType("Hierarchy2");
    3. Change it to (add vietlabs. before Hierarchy2)
    Code (csharp):
    1. typeOfHierarchy2 = typeof(TreeViewTracker).Assembly.GetType("vietlabs.Hierarchy2");
    Thanks vidjo again for reporting this.

    @everyone : I will always do my best to kill the bugs so please inform me when you notice any weird things ... I will absolutely have a look.
     
  39. jerotas

    jerotas

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Posts:
    5,287
    Hi, we just bought this plugin and overall it's AWESOME! We found an issue that hopefully you can fix though. Undo doesn't work right when you do bulk operations on game objects (CTRL + click / ALT +click), like the bulk lock or bulk activate / deactivate (black eye). After doing that, then undo only puts one object back to normal. The rest are permanently changed. This could be pretty dangerous to use in a huge game like ours without undo on that feature.

    Could you see if you can fix this in the next version?

    Oh, I found another couple weird things too.

    1) When I have a missing script (a monobehavior), right-clicking on the same game object doesn't show your context menu items (this is minor).
    2) Isolating a tag or any other criteria (locked objects) that doesn't have any in the scene does nothing. I think it should filter down to zero objects.
    3) Isolate layer doesn't seem to work at all, except on "default" layer. Selecting other layers, even when there are several objects in the Scene with that layer, doesn't do anything for most layers. And selecting some other layers show me objects that aren't in that layer. Very weird. Anyway the layer part seems buggy.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2014
  40. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Hello jerotas,

    Thanks for supporting me by buying the package, for your questions :

    Sure, I will have a look at it and will absolutely fix, it will be in Hierarchy2 v1.3.2, I will try to issue the update asap. Thanks a lot for taking time to report to me, jerotas. It's very important to me.

    This work as intended, I did have a log to tell that there are nothing to filter, but maybe that's not intuitive. I will try to empty the Hierarchy when there are no Object fits the filter. Thanks for this suggestion :)
     
  41. jerotas

    jerotas

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Posts:
    5,287
    Thank you :)

    On the last issue (filter not clearing the hierarchy with zero results), I believe the fix I'm suggesting would make it consistent with how the search bar works there. That's why it expected it to work that way. I think others will expect that to behave the same way I do.

    I will leave a text review for your plugin after the next version :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014
  42. vidjo

    vidjo

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Posts:
    97
    Thank you very much. I really appreciate your work :D
     
  43. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Just a quick note to tell that's I'm still working on 1.3.2, basically the Undo for batch modes is finish, some more cleaning up integration test should be done before upload to the assetstore. It takes this long because I was really really busy recently for my full time job :( ...

    Thanks everyone for understanding :)
     
  44. jerotas

    jerotas

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Posts:
    5,287
    No hurry man, take your time to get it right! Thank you for the update.
     
  45. Flipbookee

    Flipbookee

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    2,498
    I've updated the Favorites Tab a couple of days ago with this fix, so no need to do that manually, just take the latest version from the Asset Store.

    Btw, congrats for all the 5 stars reviews you've earned so far, already 3 of them in such short time, and I'm sure there will be more coming soon :)
     
  46. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Thanks a lot Flipbookee, I'm really appreciated your help. It's wonderful. Just found it out today that I got 3 comments all 5 stars for Hierarchy2, too. I'm really happy for this.

    @everyone : I already upload version 1.3.2 to the AssetStore (actually, It's been several days) and It will need some time before showing up. This version mostly fix things suggested by Jerotas :


    Thanks a lot Jerotas, once again, your feedbacks really help !
    If anyone has any other suggestions for Hierarchy2, please tell me, I'm always on my ears !!!
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2014
  47. jerotas

    jerotas

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Posts:
    5,287
    Killer job fixing that stuff! My whole team loves this plugin. Please do post on this thread when the fix goes live.
     
  48. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    It's good to hear that your team is loving it :) I will absolutely update this thread when the update is available, still in the queue now, been 5 days ... :)

    And FYI, there are a lot more features comming in v1.4 which is currently under development :) It's not comming anytime soon but at least you know that Hierarchy2 is still being taken good care and getting better from time to time :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2014
  49. thienhaflash

    thienhaflash

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    513
    Maybe it's worth mention that my package is still in the queue. There may have been some problem with unity store recently, I already contact for support, but it's not resolve yet, so still in the queue.


    And hot news for today, Hierarchy2 was picked to be on 24-hours deal for today (April 15). Graps it while it still hot everyone :)

    And thanks a lot for everyone who supported me buy buying the package. I really really appreciate your help. Thanks a lot :)
     
  50. Victor_Kallai

    Victor_Kallai

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    123
    Feature request: when you lock a parent, all the children must be locked as well. Idk you got this request already. Keep up the good work :)
     
unityunity