Search Unity

Hi I'm New to Unity

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Arkus0, Apr 21, 2019.

1. Arkus0

Arkus0

Hi everyone,

I'm a programmer that mainly uses C++, and lately I've been considering developing my own games, however doing it from scratch in C++ has proven to be a difficulty and going that route may prove futile if I ever intend to develop for consoles one day. So when I heard about Unity and how many mondern games use it including those with Nintendo I thought it would be worth giving it a try and learn, however the Nintendo Developer Portal kinda scared me with the NDA. I fully understand it, however I just want to learn how to make games in Unity even if I never really get around to develop and sell a final product, and while I could do that with Nintendo I don't want to restrict myself to one platform until I got a better understanding of how to use Unity and come up with a solid project.

So then I found out about Unity Personal and that seems to be the way to go for me, but I am still unsure. Right now I am not developing anything for a third party or a company, this is just me wanting to learn and mess around with some private projects and try them out on different platforms if I can. I have no intentions at the moment to sell or make any revenue from my work with Unity. Is it worth it?

I appreciate any advice or warnings you have to offer.

2. N_Murray

N_Murray

Since you're only planning on working on personal projects and unity is free I don't understand your hesitation? You've nothing to lose just jump in

JoeStrout likes this.
  3. Arkus0

Arkus0

I'm just feeling a bit cautious after reading up the rules on the Nintendo Developer Portal.

4. N_Murray

N_Murray