Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

HI, i am trying to get movment of the OVRPlayercontroller with the gear VR trackpad

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by markncolleen1985, Dec 3, 2017.

1. markncolleen1985

markncolleen1985

OK so im kind of new to unity, but i have been playing with Gear Vr now for a few weeks.

I have learned a few things, which has helped me ask the right questions; how do i use the trackpad to move?

I have played with the OVRPlayerController.cs and i have learned that what im trying to do is use this section of code here:

Vector2 primaryAxis = OVRInput.Get(OVRInput.Axis2D.PrimaryThumbstick);

if(primaryAxis.y > 0.0f)
    MoveThrottle += ort * (primaryAxis.y * transform.lossyScale.z * moveInfluence * Vector3.forward);

if(primaryAxis.y < 0.0f)
    MoveThrottle += ort * (Mathf.Abs(primaryAxis.y) * transform.lossyScale.z * moveInfluence * BackAndSideDampen * Vector3.back);

if(primaryAxis.x < 0.0f)
    MoveThrottle += ort * (Mathf.Abs(primaryAxis.x) * transform.lossyScale.x * moveInfluence * BackAndSideDampen * Vector3.left);

if(primaryAxis.x > 0.0f)
    MoveThrottle += ort * (primaryAxis.x * transform.lossyScale.x * moveInfluence * BackAndSideDampen * Vector3.right);

Vector2 secondaryAxis = OVRInput.Get(OVRInput.Axis2D.SecondaryThumbstick);

euler.y += secondaryAxis.x * rotateInfluence;

transform.rotation = Quaternion.Euler(euler);

But i cannot get movement at all, i can get movement by using this command:

if (OVRInput.Get(OVRInput.Button.DpadUp))
    {
    moveForward = true;
    dpad_move = true;

Which makes the movement via a swipe motion, one small step at a time :/

But i can move fluid by using this command:

(OVRInput.Get(OVRInput.Touch.PrimaryTouchpad)) sadly this will only work in one direction