Search Unity

hey new game I'm planning on making need help/insight

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by ChrisCanvas2077, Dec 9, 2015.

1. ChrisCanvas2077

ChrisCanvas2077

I'm New to Unity but thats not a big issue. I want too make a game on mobile its a MMO RTS SciFi kinda game. Similar in terms of layout too 2 examples i have from both IOS and Android Stores; Called,
    Galaxy Empire (by Tap4Fun) and Galaxy at War Online (by Sphinx Entertainment) the general set up/layout and feel of these games is what I'm shooting for but I'm greatly expanding on it. My question is this easily done on Unity? If so any help/tips or suggestions too get me started with this? If Unity would struggle with a game like this do u know any other engine that would run it better?...I also want to bring in 3D models into the game but layout for planets in 2D-2.5D. any suggestions on that too would be awesome

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Yes, Unity is a fine tool for this. Use the "Learn" link at the top of this page to get started, and post back here when you run into some specific problem you can't figure out.

Good luck,
    - Joe

theANMATOR2b likes this.
  3. ChrisCanvas2077

ChrisCanvas2077

Alright cool thanks

4. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

No.

It's not easily done in anything. Unity is as good as any other engine out there. But what you are proposing is hard.

5. Tiny-Tree

Tiny-Tree

im actually doing same kind of game, its not a mmorpg, there is no "real time multiplayer" its what we call "async multiplayer".

its easier than a mmorpg as there is much less things to manage.
    generally this kind of games use what we call rest api server call, you can check some services like playfab from @Brendan Vanous or gamespark from @GameSparks Shane

the 2d or 3d model choice is irelevent, its mostly UI event that will call your server functions

it could be layout like this:
    -player login>receive response with its player data, feed this data in your UI and load your gameplay scene.