Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with Unity 2D Skeletal Animation

Discussion in '2D' started by Nervly, Aug 8, 2019.

1. Nervly

Nervly

Hey, I'm relatively new to Unity, as a whole, and I've been looking into its 2D Skeletal Animation tools. Out of the ones I've researched, mainly Anima2D and the preview 2D Animation package, I can't seem to find the proper answers/documentation to what I want to know. I'm not exactly sure how to best explain my questions but I will try and provide references to further exemplify. I'm just looking for clarification. I'm sorry if this all seems a little disjointed, confusing or over-complicated; my naivety and lack of experience on the subject is more than likely what's holding me back.

The animation system I'd intended to implement is similar to that of Rayman Legends'; a sprite atlas with all the various pieces set and rigged individually, to be mixed and put together in order to make an animation. One issue I've had is, and I don't know if this is certain, you need to keep the sprites as children of the game object? Otherwise, you can't play your animation because objects are missing. Is this correct?

I want to know if there is a way to, or it is already automatically done and I'm just not aware, to store that data in the animation file; so as to only call the pieces relevant to that particular animation, similarly to a traditional frame-by-frame sprite animation, as opposed to them all being part of the game object running said animation already.