Search Unity

Help with top down 2D chunk system

Discussion in 'World Building' started by hamham50, Jan 20, 2020.

1. hamham50

hamham50

Hey guys I am fairly new to Unity but am studying software engineering at uni and so far I've been having a blast. However, there is a question has been looming ahead for a while now, that is, what's the best method to store/load 2D Tilemap chunks? At this current point, I do have something up and running, but my current system is not an option if I want to use Rule Tiles. Right now I have a chunk class that creates a new Tilemap every time a new chunk needs to be generated, and when I move far enough away from the chunk I just disable the Tilemap Renderer component. It was heavily inspired from Sebastian Lague's series on chunk generation, except in 2D instead. Although this system means there comes to be many disabled gameobjects in the hierarchy :(

However if I want to use rule tiles, then the chunks are separated from each other (as each chunk has its own Tilemap component) and there is no cohesion between them. I have been thinking about a solution to this, but I need some advice on how to proceed. I could just use a single Tilemap for everything, which would solve the issue of cohesion, but then how would I disable the chunk? By setting each tile of chunks I don't need to null and then loading it back again when I need it? Idk it just seems inefficient. Furthermore, I have no idea on how to store all the details of each chunk into a seperate file for saving and loading as all I have been doing is disabling the tile maps. I would like to eventually implement that unless there is a better option for saving/loading? I'm planning for my procedurally generated map to be around 10000 tiles width and height, but I obviously can't load (or generate?) that all at once.