Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with re-index my SQLite DB

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by pKallv, Feb 9, 2019.

1. pKallv

pKallv

This is my first time with SQLite and I am trying to reindex my SQLite DB, after deleted record, but always get the max nr of records in each 'id' row.

Skärmavbild 2019-02-09 kl. 18.46.02.png

id' row should be 1, 2, 3 etc. but is now 2135 in all records.

Skärmavbild 2019-02-09 kl. 18.50.50.png

When I have deleted a record I want to reindex the whole table so 'id' starts with 1 and ends with max records number.

I have been trying all kinds of things, googled a lot, but failed. Here is the code I use, last tests:

Code (CSharp):
    1. void ReIndexDB ()
    2.     {
    3.         List<string> importedFiles = new List<string>();
    4.         int recNr = 1;
    5.         int id;
    7.         OpenDB();
    8.         dbcmd = dbconn.CreateCommand();
    9.         sqlQuery = "SELECT * from questions";
    10.         dbcmd.CommandText = sqlQuery;
    12.         reader = dbcmd.ExecuteReader();
    14.         while (reader.Read())
    15.         {
    16.             SqliteCommand command = new SqliteCommand();
    17.             dbcmd2 = dbconn.CreateCommand();
    19.             sqlQuery = "UPDATE questions SET id = '" + recNr + "'";
    20.             recNr++;
    22.             dbcmd2.CommandText = sqlQuery;                                              // sets dbcmd.CommandText to be equal to the insert statement created above
    23.             dbcmd2.ExecuteNonQuery();
    24.         }
    26.         txt_nrOfQuestions.text = recNr.ToString() + " questions in DB";
    28.         reader.Close();
    29.         dbconn.Close();
    30.         reader = null;
    31.         dbcmd.Dispose();
    32.         dbcmd2.Dispose();
    33.         dbcmd = null;