Search Unity

Help with GOAP Game design

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Censureret, Feb 4, 2021.

1. Censureret

Censureret

I am quite new to the Goal Oriented Action Planning (GOAP) concept and was hoping some of you could help me with the design process of my project :)

Let me set the scene:

I am building an RTS siege simulation and want my enemy AI to defend a castle:

upload_2021-2-4_11-1-49.png

The goal for the player is to breach the castle gates and take the middle capture point to win the match

I want my enemy AI to take action to protect these points and/or destroy the enemy ram.

My idea is to have three different types of AI agents:

- Swordman (uses sword and shield)
    - Archers (uses bow and arrows and can shoot from afar)
    - Brutes (uses heavy weapons but work alone)

The idea is that archers of course want to stay on the walls shooting down on the enemy while the swordsmen want to get up close either defending a point or destroy a ram.

So what types of actions and goals could I design to make this look realistic? :)

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

If it is just simple mechanics, I would just make something like:
    • If archer, go to wall point A or B.
    • If swordman, or brutes, go outside of wall.

3. SparrowGS

SparrowGS

that sounds like a state machine, not a goal oriented action plan.

first of all, you also need swordmen on the walls if the enemy has a siege tower.
    and why a sword of all weapons? what about spears, axes and polearms?

anyway, what you wanna do is break it down to an end goal and actions your actors can take.
    the defender ai goal is to protect the castle and subjects and rid the castle of all hostile entities,
    you need to provide your GOAP algorithm with a technical representation of said goal (IE attack all entities marked as hostile and avoid incoming damage to castle walls and subjects)
    and you also need to provide him with actions it can take to accomplish said goal,