Search Unity

Help with Basic Mobile Game For Kids (Android)

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Kunalz, Oct 11, 2018.

1. Kunalz

Kunalz

Hi I am working on a project to develop a simple android game. The game is designed towards kids around 6 years old. The concept of the game is to teach kids to save electricity. How can I do this and is there a template or similar project anyone can recommend? The game must not contain text either since we assume that children cannot read.

It does not need to be a complex game, just a basic game that helps kid understand saving electricity is good. I am quite new to game development so if anyone can share their thoughts and ideas then that would be appreciated. Thanks

2. Nlim

Nlim

Adhoc something like this might work:
    1. There is one pool of resources for the player.
    2. To progress the player has to turn some kind of spender on which continusly drains resources from the pool.
    3. Past a certain point the spender stops progressing the game and has to be turned off manually

Main point is to give the player a sense of ownership over the resources and make it obvious once a spender is just waisting resources without benefit.
    In addition I would suggest to use a theme understandable for children - it doesn´t have to do be directly tied to electricity to teach the concept.

The only similar games that come to mind are usually strategy games since they force you to manage your resources to play well but their goal usually ain´t being educational.

Kunalz likes this.
  3. Kunalz

Kunalz

Thanks for the input, that is a pretty neat idea.