Search Unity

Help with a story for my game idea

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by leonvb, Aug 8, 2022.

1. leonvb

leonvb

I am building a game and taking some inspiration from both Torchlight as well as Orcs Must Die. It would be a Tower Defense type game. The basic player mechanics would be similar to that of Torchlight, where the camera is mostly top down and target enemies using mouse clicks, being able to do simple attacks as well as cast abilities. Then there is the trap building mechanic, where the player is able to build traps around the level in order to kill the enemies to prevent them from reaching the end goal.

My problem though, is that I am not very good at coming up with story ideas. Or a motivation for the character. At first I was thinking about introducing Elements to the game (Water, Fire, Earth and Air) but I am unsure about this idea, and still don't know how to make a story out of it.

If anyone has a simple story idea or motivation for my main character to be building traps and shooting stuff, I would be greatly appreciated.

JoelStolar likes this.
  2. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

you can fit a story to anything.

figure out what you are confident that you can do well and then it may be easier to come up with some story ideas to fit into that.

it would help if you can describe gameplay in terms of emotional impact on player. Is it stressful, relaxing, tense, scary, hectic, empowering, etc etc.

From that you might start thinking in terms of color and maybe music too. Then you kind of form a general theme in your head. From that you can start to envision some sort of characters that fit into this theme and finally what sort of obstacles are they going against.

I think a lot of people struggle making creative decisions because there is an infiinite number of right answers. what helps is to start blocking yourself in with restrictions. Then you have fewer possibilities and you can make a decision more easily.