Search Unity

Help setting up a lan connection?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Gekitatsu, Dec 27, 2011.

1. Gekitatsu

Gekitatsu

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to using unity and I'm looking for a way to simply make a lan game between two computers. I've watched this great video about unity networking at http://cgcookie.com/unity/2011/12/20/introduction-to-networking-in-unity/ but neither of the computers I am working with have access to the internet. So... how can I go about doing the same thing in the video but without connecting to the internet? So you don't have the watch the video pretty much I just want each person in the game to have a block and be able to control it. I already have the block controlling down (the easy part) I just can't seem to find out how to setup a lan connection in unity. Thank you in advance.

:eek:

2. TheCasual

TheCasual

You can easily connect via local network. Have other clients connect to the 127.0.0.1 host. Should work fine , i do this kind of networking almost exclusively. (Cause im not really good enough with other unity networking yet, lol).

3. JRavey

JRavey

Other clients couldn't possibly connect to anything in the 127.0.0.0/8, as that entire network is dedicated to loopback activity. You have two ways to do this: have clients query the LAN and find servers, enumerate them, and provide a list to the player (harder and probably beyond your skills at this point) or have clients just enter the IP address of the system which is running the server instance they wish to join (much easier).

4. Gekitatsu

Gekitatsu

JRavey your second point seems to be the easiest method, but how do I set it up? I assume I create a server via Network. then all I need is have the other program call Network.connect(main computer server ip)? My problem is every guide I find shows how to set up a network via a online server, but not like how you mentioned.

5. JRavey

JRavey