Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Help running unity game with configuration screen

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by obippo, Jun 30, 2018.

  1. obippo

    obippo

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Hi, first of all I don't know if this is the right forum for this so sorry if it isn't

    Few months ago i downloaded a prototype game made in unity called "against the wall", every time I ran the game a screen asking for my preferred resolution and quality appeared. But since a week ago this dialog doesn't appear and it seems that the game is stuck at 4:3 resolution. I'm unable to change it.

    Any way to force the res selection dialog to appear?

    Thanks in advance!!
     
  2. verybinary

    verybinary

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Posts:
    368
  3. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    11,676
    Kiwasi likes this.
  4. obippo

    obippo

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Sorry I don't know how to use unity guys, I'm not a developer. I don't even have the program :p! Is there any way to "force" the resolution dialog using some kind of shortcut command or something like that? Or editing a file, etc....

    This is the web of the game:

    http://www.againstthewallgame.com/

    Thanks again and sorry for not being clear
     
  5. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    11,676
    Yes. It's mentioned in my post.
     
  6. obippo

    obippo

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    I tried copying "-show-screen-selector" at the end of the destiny box in the properties of the game but that didn't work, I'm sure I'm doing it wrong.... where do I have to paste the '-show-screen-selector' thing?

    Thanks for your help
     
  7. chelnok

    chelnok

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    649
    Not sure, but i think you get it back with holding down shift or alt key when starting the game.
     
  8. obippo

    obippo

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    didn't work :(((
     
  9. obippo

    obippo

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Posts:
    8
  10. obippo

    obippo

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Posts:
    8
  11. verybinary

    verybinary

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Posts:
    368
    why don't you build it again with a fixed resolution?
    and... there is a space between exe and "-show-screen-selector", right?
     
  12. obippo

    obippo

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Build what? I just have an exe of the game, I made a shortcut and in properties I put "-show-screen-selector" in destiny box... didnt work :(

    I dont have/know how to use the unity program, I'm just trying to launch this game that used to ask for resolution at launch and it doesn't do that anymore

    Thanks
     
  13. verybinary

    verybinary

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Posts:
    368
    you can contact the creator and let them know they could use better resolution settings,
    or...
    if it used to pop up, the game probably keeps settings saved on your computer. back up the game you have very well, search your computer for anything related to the game name(likely somewhere in the program files folder, and delete it. that should clear any and all prefrences for the game. then reinstall, and load, and that box should pop back up.
     
  14. obippo

    obippo

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    nothing :(

    it's just an exe, no installation files etc...

    Thanks