Search Unity

[HELP] Render Terrain - not expert - Academic & Research purposes

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by felipemagz, Aug 20, 2019.

1. felipemagz

felipemagz

Hello dear comunity,

Im a geologist and im not an expert on the Unity Software either with programing languages.

Anyway i have been using Unity for Academic & Research purposes, in my graduation and now in my master degree (Check out my work here:
    ).

Lets gets started with my doubt, shall we?!

I have finished my most recent didatic 3D model on sea level oscilations, but i have a problem that can be found on the last one too, the visualization of the surface is ruined by some square forms on the terrain there is some kind of solution on this issue?

here are some of my terrain settings if its serves as any help...
    upload_2019-8-19_20-0-10.png

2. McDev02

McDev02

These "square forms" are pixels of your heightmap, it has a resolution of 1025 (Heightmap Resolution). That is to some extent enough, but for a close up it is not. Unity terrains will not interpolate further, the resolution of the mesh is therefore limited to heightmap resolution. There are two solutions.

Increase heightmap resolution
    If you do that inside Unity it might not look much better at first, you would have to blur things out a little manually.
    The alternative is to open your heightmap in an editor like Photoshop and scale it up to 2049 or 4097. Additionally, you could try to blur the image by just one or two pixels, this could give even nicer results.

Tesselation Shaders
    With tesselation, it could be possible to smoothen out these edges, but you have to find a suitable shader for terrains if you can't do it yourself.

3. felipemagz

felipemagz

Hello!

I've tried to edit the resolution of my heightmap, but the simple fact to open it on Photoshop somehow corrupt the terrain, there is a way to increase the resolution without open the image?

turned it, (1025)