Search Unity

Help regarding Game Design softwares plz

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Daryn-Flannery, Sep 2, 2019.

1. Daryn-Flannery

Daryn-Flannery

Hello. I am new to UNITY.

I am wondering if UNITY Engine has a decent built-in graphic design maker and editor? It seems so.
    Is it recommended to use UNITY animator and graphic design for actual game making? Say for object design, map design, and character design.

I read that enough developers like MAYA software; and work in that, only to transfer it over to UNITY.

Really; I am just looking for a half decent, and not too pricey Graphic creating software to make a 3D game with. UNITY seems like it has some graphical tools; but I am so new, and it seems pretty simple. Not very robust for higher end graphical creations.

MAYA is like $165 a month to use their software. I can't afford that.

2. Murgilod

Murgilod

Blender is free in every sense of the word and has a massive amount of tutorials. For 2D stuff, GIMP is also free. The only built in modeling tools in Unity are pretty much for prototyping and not much else.

SparrowGS likes this.
  3. Daryn-Flannery

Daryn-Flannery

Blender is for 2D huh.

I read you about UNITY model tooling. Darn.

Murgilod. What about 3D modeling tool software? Are there any other options, rather MAYA? Anything 3D but cheaper. A software that has graphical strength which does not look like something prior to 2014 visually. I am going for realism. Character modeling and world environment.

Also; MAYA. THey charge monthly. Which is really annoying. I am looking for something where I can just buy a package, one time. None of this 'monthly subscription' or yearly subscription stuff.

4. You never heard of Blender? Wow. Please, check it out, It's a 3D modeling software.

5. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Blender is 3D modeling software, serving the same purpose as Maya.
    Gimp is 2D image editing, serving the same purpose as Photoshop.
    Both are free open source software.