Search Unity

Question Help on improving shader performance

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by killerfrogy, Jul 23, 2021.

1. killerfrogy

killerfrogy

I am after some advice on improving the performance of a shader I have written. The shader is used on all of the tiles in an infinitely generating 2d game I am currently working on. Here's a photo of what the shader looks like in game:
    upload_2021-7-23_16-29-37.png
    The shader does several things, it adds an outline/border to the tiles. It adds a pseudo 2d ambient occlusion, and also shades the tile based on it's light value and it's neighboring light values. Due to each tiles material being passed data specific to itself, such as it's light value and it's neighboring light value, etc, every tile has it's own instance of the shader, meaning no SRP batching can be achieved.

Here's a screen grab of the shader:
    upload_2021-7-23_16-34-25.png

This is my first time asking for help improving the performance of a shader, so I am likely lacking a lot of information in this post that may help you help me. Please let me know what other pieces of info I can add to this post to give you some more insight.

I am open to making drastic changes, such as remaking it in amplify, etc. If that would help me. I was also wondering if there is such a thing as batching different sections of the shader.

Attached Files:

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

You got lot of stuff happening there.

First, you need organise thing. Group shader sections. Create sub graph. Reause them where repeating part of code.
    Reduce main shader to few/fewr nodes.

Align nodes properly and use 90deg shader connecting lines approach. This way will be easier to follow what is going on. Random directions of diagonal lines is just mess.
    Double click on the line, to create connector node, to help organise them.
    You can also create groups of nodes.

Try use texture as mask, when possible, instead recreating such masks.