Search Unity

Help me to identify the reasons of lagging in android

Discussion in 'Android' started by overpowerogue, Jul 11, 2020.

1. overpowerogue

overpowerogue

I am very new to profiler analysis in Unity. Can someone please help me to find out the reasons of being so lag of my game in android? It seems like semaphore.waitforsignal is waiting for some process, but I have no idea for further solution to that. Any help is highly appreciated.
    Asking1.PNG asking2.PNG

2. MartinTilo

MartinTilo

Unity Technologies

Hi and welcome to the world of profiling. That Semaphore.WaitForSignal occurs on the main thread because it's waiting on the work from the Render thread of the previous frame to finish. I can't tell with absolute certainty if that is Gfx.Present sample but I'd guess so, meaning you'd be GPU bound, and by quite a bit. Without GPU Profile data or more of a hint as to what the GPU has to work on, it's going to be hard to give you many pointers beyond that.

Note that you might want to take a look at the Profiler manual pages as well as the Unite Now talk on Profiling to get more familiar with the Profiling tools and these samples.

You also seem to be on a version that is not the latest available patch version on that major version Stream, or an otherwise no longer supported version, as the Others category in the chart isn't showing and the Rendering category seems to not count the Semaphore's waiting time. Not that updating to the latest patch would necessarily help with your issue, but it should clarify the Profiler's chart and it should generally be a more stable version with less bugs.

Also, what phone are you testing on? Could it be that it is just not powerful enough?

Ryiah likes this.
  3. overpowerogue

overpowerogue