Search Unity

Help getting 60FPS

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by Nosada, Feb 5, 2019.

1. Nosada

Nosada

Hello,

I am an independent developer working on a small game by myself. I am having some issues with frame rate. Using 1.0f/ Time.smoothDeltaTime I am monitoring my frame rate. In the editor I get around 60FPS and it runs smooth. However, when I create a build I only get around 30FPS and it seems choppy. I set the target frame rate to 60 in the script, so I am not sure why this is happening. Any insight or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

The framerate cannot be set, this only is a cap. So if the application cannot reach that speed then it will obviously not run at that speed. If it's faster in the editor it is likely due to the fact it's not rendering as high a resolution.

High resolutions will cause the computer to do more work, so more work takes a longer amount of time.

The solution is not to cap anything, and code your game to be framerate independent.

You also need to learn how to code with delta time, there's a lot of resources on this, so your game becomes "framerate independent".

This is basic stuff the learn tutorials go over, plus a whole number of youtube videos and so forth. All games have this, and it's essentially multiplying any values that will change over time by Time.deltaTime so that the movement becomes consistent regardless of hardware, or options.

Nosada likes this.
  3. Nosada

Nosada

Thanks for the response. I am aware of deltaTime and FixedUpdate and I am using those for movmement based calculations.

I thought maybe I had too many lights in my scene, deactivated all of them and made a new build, but my framerate did not increase.

4. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

Obviously not because you are guessing. What slows down the CPU is not going to be the same thing that slows down the GPU. You should also use the profiler.