Search Unity

Help for creating a magnet-like effect.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by legmog, May 15, 2008.

1. legmog

legmog

Hey people. First of all just to say that I am a newbie at Unity. I have an extremely basic degree of the Java scripting (I have only been practicing for a week)...

I have already made some other threads and I give great thanks to those who have helped me out... But I have a question for you.....

Here's what I want to do....

I am making a game, and I want it so when the character approaches an object (in this case energy ball items), the objects must get attracted to the character and move towards him.
    Think of it like a magnet. With the character being the magnet, and the object being the piece of metal.
    When the character approaches the object... The object should be pulled towards the character.

This type of thing is employed in a number of games, namely when you collect items on the ground.... For example the latest Ratchet and Clank game uses a similar system. This is what I want do try and achieve.

I presume this would be somewhat simple to achieve... It's a case of when the character gets within a certain distance of said object, the object gets attracted to the character, like a gravitational pull or something... Said object then follows the character around wherever he goes because it is always attracted to it.

Now perhaps I should explain a bit about the game I am making so this makes more sense......

The aim of the game will be to go around the environment getting all these objects (energy balls). You just get a load to follow you.... then you have to go and drop them back at base.

So as for the code...
    The character should have a code on him which somehow attracts the energy objects to get drawn to him.
    (I would also preferably want it so the object will stay following the character).