Search Unity

[Help] Every time i clicked on play, this errors kept appearing. I dont know what to do.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by MTKA2019, Jul 20, 2017.

  1. MTKA2019

    MTKA2019

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    I did clicked on red error, the Microsoft Visual Studio 2017 kept showing up when I need Mono.

    I just followed the direction from youtuber, Charger Games

     
  2. Dreamwriter

    Dreamwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Posts:
    472
    The problem is exactly what the error says - look at the red highlighted text at the bottom, in the “Console” - those are the actual errors in your code. It is complaining that your code is missing a ‘;’ (by saying it is expected). In C# (and C, C++), every line of code that accomplishes something must end in a semicolon. So your code

    Debug.Log(“Start”)

    should be

    Debug.Log(“Start”);

    As for it bringing up Visual Studio, what you need to do is go into Unity Preferences, there you can change the default script editor. Preferences can be found in Edit->Preferences in Windows, or Unity->Preferences on Mac. Then choose the “External Tools” tab, and use “External Script Editor” to choose Monodevelop.
     
  3. MTKA2019

    MTKA2019

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Thank, man. Its work.
     
  4. DroidifyDevs

    DroidifyDevs

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Posts:
    1,661
    1 note: You got a great answer, but you DO NOT "need" Monodevelop. If you already have Visual Studio, I would recommend using it. It doesn't matter what software you use to edit your code. If you write code in Notepad, Notepad++, Monodevelop, Visual Studio, it will all work the same. You should use what you like most, in my case that's Visual Studio because Monodevelop crashes a lot and has worse code prediction.

    Basically, I reccomend Visual Studio, but you can use what you like.
     
unityunity