Search Unity

Help! Beginner trying to recreate mirror's edge dlc look

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by HKSpadez, Mar 18, 2015.

1. HKSpadez

HKSpadez

Hey all,

I'm 100% a programmer and total beginner. Know nothing about shaders/renderers and lightmaps. I thought it might be simple to recreate a scene like the image below but I cant get it quite right and honestly dont even know where to start. As mentioned in the title, the scene is from the mirror's edge DLC. I just love the look and thought I could make a simple game out of an environment like this. could someone please point me in the right direction?

I thought it would be simple cause its just basic colors and blocks but I cant get the color of the red right. I tried to simply make a "material" and used the eye dropper on the red. but that didnt work out. i also tried changing the ambient color a bit but that didnt help too much. also not sure where to get a simple blue skybox like that.

Also do I need a "white" material for the white blocks or just default will work?

Please help :( not sure where else to ask.

Thanks a bunch for anyone willing to help out.

2. the_motionblur

the_motionblur

I asume you use Unity5?
    In that case your materials can be created entirely without texture maps, if you want to. A rougher plastic should do fine.
    Most of Mirror's Edge's looks derives from a really good lighting, though and if you'd be aiming for the look of the main game it would actually be a little more difficult to achieve. Minimalism can get tricky and sometimes be even more complicated - especially to keep consistent. But keep on practising and you'll be fine. :)

For the lighting: Try a procedural skymaterial and a directional light. The blue-ish look Mirror's Edge has doesn't come from the materials themselves. It's the atmosphere. And that natural look is light bouncing off of the materials and into the scene (Global Illumination "GI").