Search Unity

Hello CommUnity

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Camike, Mar 29, 2015.

1. Camike

Camike

I assume this is the place to say hello. I'm new to Unity but very excited about what I've seen so far. Seems like a very powerful tool in the right hands and the business team should be applauded for making it available to everyone at no cost until revenue hits 100K.

I'm the guy that traded his passion for a paycheck about 35 years ago but I've learned a lot along the way. As I enter my "golden years" I'm looking to get back to my true self, my creative self. Did some subcontract game stuff back in the 90's for some pretty popular name brands at the time to supplement my income (not sure if I can mention names so I won't - it was commercial stuff on the shelves of CompUSA and the like) and I enjoyed the heck out of it. Three kids and a couple decades later and I really want to make a run at this. Ive got a decade or two left, if I'm blessed with longevity, and I would love to spend it being the artist I was born to be.

I see that I have lots to learn but I've learned a lot already thanks to the willingness of the vets who use this tool and share their experiences.

On a side note - I'm expecting my Cintiq 27 QHD to be delivered tomorrow - I've got an Intuos Pro and love it for 3D Studio Max, Photoshop, Manga Studio. Any tips for using a tablet with unity?

Anyways - just wanted to say hello.

OboShape and chelnok like this.
  2. Schneider21

Schneider21

Hello! And welcome.

It's always nice to see someone pursue their passion, even late in life. Actually, especially late in life! I personally feel that I work best (though stressed) under a deadline, and what better deadline is there than life?!

Keep us update on your growth, and of course, as you have questions, feel free to ask.

3. protopop

protopop

Hi Camike:)

Yes to following your passion!